Some Silly and Serious S Stuff

26 Sep

I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to write about for today’s Alphabe-Thursday post, so I didn’t make up my mind.  Instead I just started taking pictures.

First up is Djali.  That stupid llama is spitting at my ox.

Stupid Spitting Llama

Next we have a scene that is seen frequently right now.  The harvest is well under way here, and the sound of combines carries to my farm from every direction.

commonly seen scene

While I was in the pasture, I decided I would try to get a picture of the sunflare through the trees.  I was very surprised when I saw this one.  I swear I did nothing to make it look more like a heart shape.

surprise in my sunflare

While walking back there, I saw a spade.  It was left by my nephew while he was finishing up a bit of work.  This reminds me I still need to go bring it back up for him.

I love the splash of color under the clear sky.  Is that a stretch for an s?

The goats were in pasture.  I caught sisters, Bonnie and Blaze, browsing together.

sisters

My sweet, sweet Myson was munching the stems of the rose bush.

Sweet Myson

Bonnie is one spotted, speckled, and splotched goat.  She was stretching as high as she could to get some green stuff.

speckled, spotted and splotched Bonnie stretching

My silly little shadow was resting in the shade.  My Bob cat followed me all over the pasture.  He was panting, so I put him over my shoulder and carried him part of the way.  He doesn’t often pose for me, but when he does, the results are purrfect!

silly shadow Bob

I thought about sitting on the stump to rest and look at the silvery moon (upper left hand corner), but thought I might get splinters.

stump under the silvery moon

So I continued walking back to the house.  On the way, I saw two of my super stinky boys.  Really they stink.

stinky boys

This might be another stretch, but the birds (maybe they’re sparrows) were sitting on the corn.

birds sitting on corn

Finally, I arrive at the sad part of my post.   I took this as another silly picture, the cat yawning, but I noticed something amiss. This is my seriously snaggletoothed Snickers.  Do you see something missing on the bottom.  He’s lost the tooth that was abscessed last spring.  There’s also a big horrible spot, so he went back to see the vet.  The diagnosis is cancer.

seriously snaggletoothed Snickers

Finally my sick pup, Mushu, is feeling better, but I don’t think the infection is the primary problem.  I believe he and Snickers share the same diagnosis.  He’s only eating soft food, struggles to get up and sleeps most of the time.  I’m so grateful my mom is helping to care for him during the day when I’m at work.

sick puppy

He still makes me smile.  After all, he is my soul puppy.

Linking to Alphabe-Thursday, Thankful Thursday, This orThat Thursday, Thursday Favorite Things, and Rural Thursday hosted by A Rural Journal and Two Bears Farm.

71 Responses to “Some Silly and Serious S Stuff”

  1. TexWisGirl September 26, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    awww. sorry to hear about the last two…

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

      Thanks. At least they are still here for now. 🙂

  2. Tayet September 26, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    OMG I know what you mean about stinky bucks!! Terence is so small that I’m surprised that he can make such a big stink. And as per usual, I love Bonnie and Blaze more and more!

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      Bonnie and Blaze are beauties! We have three stinky ones here. The whole barnyard stinks right now.

  3. Barbara F. September 26, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    That heart? Mama Nature sending blessings down to you. She loves you and the way you love your animals and the land. Gorgeous photos, I love all of them, even the sad ones. But you do know about Rainbow’s Bridge?

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      I know I’ve hear about the rainbow bridge before. Your comment is so sweet. Thank you.

  4. Patty September 26, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    I’m sorry about the sick pets. I do know how hard that is.

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      Thanks. I guess that’s the price we pay for loving them so much. 🙂 It’s totally worth it.

  5. Alica September 26, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Poor Snickers and Mushu! 😦 Despite the sad news, the pictures are great…I especially like the shot of Bob, and the “commonly seen scene”. Are those round bales in the distance on that picture?

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      Thanks. Bob is just the most photogenic kitty when he cooperates. 🙂 They are round bales. Lots of round bales.

  6. Bev September 26, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    What a lovely “S” post. That heart in the sunlight was meant for you because of Snickers and Mushu! I’m so very sorry they are so ill.

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      Thanks. I could never have planned it to be more perfect. 🙂

  7. Texan September 26, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    I am sorry, :O( (hugs)

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      Thanks. I do appreciate it.

  8. Pat September 26, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    The heart sun flare must mean that your farm is a place where all beings are loved and treated with care and dignity.

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      I try to make it so. 🙂 Thanks.

  9. Anne September 26, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Our pets are truly a blessing and bring so much acceptance and trust to our lives. My 20 year old kitty died a few years ago and I still love the memories. Enjoy each day with them.

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      I agree they are totally worth the pain of their dying, but I must say my heart is breaking right now. 🙂

  10. Pat @ Mille Fiori Favoriti September 26, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear about Snickers and Mushu…I know how hard ot is to see beloved pets get ill and pass. be comforted that you made their last days comfortable ones, and that they were loved and cared for by you for their entire lives.

    Your photos were all so wonderful., Teresa! I loved the heart sunflare!

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      They are both still here. I’m just not sure how much longer they will be here. I’m just going to keep loving them for now. 🙂 I was totally amazed to see that heart once I got the pictures on the computer.

  11. JDaniel4's Mom September 26, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    I am so sorry the last two are not doing well.

    • Teresa September 26, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      Thank you. Mushu is nearly 14, so it isn’t a big shock for him to be failing in health. Snickers was quite a shock though.

  12. Cottage and Broome September 26, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Love the pictures of the rolling hills. Sorry to hear your furry friends and not doing well, that must be very difficult for you. Thanks for stopping by, Laura

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:45 am #

      Thank you. I truly love my hills. They beautiful and peaceful.

  13. Sharon Qualls September 26, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    That heart was meant for you. This is one to frame.
    Great pictures!
    Sorry about Snickers and Mushu. It’s a heartache all pet owners know will come but are willing to take when they get their pets. The love they give you makes it worth the pain. {{{HUGS}}}

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:46 am #

      They truly are worth the heartbreak. They are the best! The heart was very much a pleasant surprise. 🙂

  14. vbr September 27, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    Oh where to start? Splendid, superb, super, spectacular – you name it and that is what it is being able to tour the farm. I adore coming to visit.
    All of the photos are lovely, my favorite is the commonly seen scene. A view of the patchwork landscape of a farm is one of the most beautiful sights to me!
    I am so sorry to hear that your sweet cat and soul puppy are not well. I know this must be a difficult time. I hope that knowing what a beautiful life they have had on the farm offers you comfort in the days ahead.

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      I love the farm life and sharing it! Thanks so much. It really is hard, but these two are so connected to each other. I can’t imagine one wanting to be here without the other. They have a truly special bond.

  15. Coloring Outside the Lines September 27, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    Sorry about the furbabies- glad your mom can help out during the day so Mishu won’t be alone. Love your pictures today- nice walk!

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      Thanks. I am very grateful my mom is here to help. It is quite beautiful out there this time of year!

  16. Candy C. September 27, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    What a lovely bunch of Sssses!! 🙂
    The heart sun flare shows just how much love you have for all your critters! {{HUGS}} for Mushu and Snickers.

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      Thank you so much. 🙂

  17. artmusedog September 27, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Wonderful and sad post ~ healing hugs your cat and dog dealing with cancer and healing hugs to you ~ also can see how ‘your farm and animals’ are great inspiration to you ~ blessed place ~ lots of love around ~ hence the ‘heart sun’ ~ (A Creative Harbor)

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      Thanks so much for stopping by. I do love my animals and farm. I was really thrilled to see the heart.

  18. Lisa @ Two Bears Farm September 27, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    Wow, Bonnie’s coloring is fantastic! Love the heart in the trees 🙂

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      Bonnie is certainly our beauty queen! I was amazed and pleased to see the heart.

  19. Tamar Strauss-Benjamin September 27, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    What an amazing view!! Love the animal shots!

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      I do love the view from the tops of my hills.

  20. Molly September 27, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    You live in a very beautiful part of the world I think….

    Mollyxxx

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      Thanks. I think so too.

  21. Hootin' Anni September 27, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    So…some serious, snapshots of “s”es!!! So superb.

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  22. debra September 27, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    By the time I got to ” speckled, spotted and splotched Bonnie stretching” I was cracking up and thinking no one could beat THIS S post …

    SORRY about the SAD STUFF ending though 😦

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 11:33 am #

      Thanks. I do love alliteration.

  23. Janis September 27, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Great photos as always. Sorry to hear the sad news on the last two.

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      Thanks. I guess we have to accept the difficult tines along with the good.

  24. Katherines Corner September 27, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    wonderful photos. so sorry about your sweet pup and your cat too. Hope they are ding better soon,Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things hop my friend xo

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 11:35 am #

      They are doing as well as can be expected. Thanks for hosting such a great meme.

  25. Yael from Home Garden Diggers September 27, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    The photos of your goats and other animals are beautiful. I am sorry to hear about your sick babies.

    Yael from Home Garden Diggers

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 11:35 am #

      Thank you. I do live in a beautiful place.

  26. Sarah ~ Magnolia Surprise September 27, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Terrific photos!! I love the one of Bonnie, and the stump!
    So sorry about your furbabies — give them scratches and tickles from me and Oliver >^.^<

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 11:36 am #

      That tree/stump is great for pictures. We do appreciate your kind comments and thoughts.

  27. Betty September 27, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    You’re making me wish I could move to a farm. Beautiful pictures.

    I’m so sorry about your sweet cat and dog. It’s heartbreaking when our pets aren’t doing well.

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      Thanks. I do love my farm life.

  28. Mimi Foxmorton September 27, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    SSSSStupendous! xoxoxoxoxo

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

      Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. 🙂

  29. Rosey September 27, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Had to laugh at your caption for the llama. It really is funny!

    Your cat’s a gem, and I hope your doggy gets better soon.

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      That llama is so mean to the ox. You’d think the ox would get tired of it and stomp on the llama, but he doesn’t.

  30. Nancy September 27, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    About Snickers and Mushu — we have them for such a short time really — but it’s all good. xo

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

      It is. It’s just a lot to digest all at once after the crappy farming year. 🙂

  31. Gina September 27, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    Oh how I love your view- it’s BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!

    • Teresa September 27, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

      Thanks. I do think I live in the most beautiful place!

  32. Pondside September 28, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    What a lot of great S’s! I like the heart-shaped sunspot and the stretching goats the best!

    • Teresa September 28, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      I do love the sunflare. 🙂

  33. littlebitquirky September 29, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    Wow. I so wasn’t expecting that. What started as a fun, silly post really took a dark turn. I hope your dog and cat feel better soon!

    • Teresa September 29, 2012 at 7:35 am #

      I guess no matter how sad life gets, there’s still plenty of beauty if we aren’t so absorbed in only seeing the sad. While my pup is very soon to leave this world, Snickers is feeling better for now.

  34. self sagacity September 30, 2012 at 1:52 am #

    those are seriously great photos of the animals for me to see tonight. thanks!

    • Teresa September 30, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      Glad you enjoyed your visit.

  35. anita September 30, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    loved your collection of s-shots, but so sad about your kitty and dog.

  36. Jenny Matlock October 8, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Poor little Bonnie. I suspect she has trouble blending into the background! ha! But she is soooo cute!

    I hope Snickers and Mushu continue to feel a little better!

    You really made me smile this morning!

    Thank you for being so splendid!

    A+

    • Teresa October 8, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      I am so glad you enjoyed your stop. I am surrounded by so much beauty. Snickers is feeling better with soft cat food, but Mushu had to be euthanized.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.