Record Keeping for Goats

9 Jan

I was surprised by the number of people commenting on my organization and being able to keep track of all the breeding choices of my goats.  I really think my years of doing genealogical research has helped.  I also have two forms of written records.  I didn’t start this until about my second year of having kids.

Bonnie and Blaze

Looking at the spreadsheet below, you can see the year, the buck is in bold print, and the does go across with their kids listed below.  It’s a very basic record that lists all the goats ever born on the farm.  You’ll notice that my Millie was born in 2004 and had her first baby in 2005.

After seven years of kidding, my spreadsheet is on it’s third page.  The page for 2012 is a constant work in progress.  I typically print it out and track the girls’ heat cycles in pencil.  I do go back and fill it in on the computer.  Their due dates are hi-lited in yellow.  Sometimes, I will change the color.  Yellow for March, green for the two due on May 12th; blue for the ones due in the first part of June, etc.  Even if I don’t plan on breeding a doe, I’ll keep track of her heat cycles in case a buck gets out.  I have the three wethers listed also because I can have an accurate count of my goats that way.  By the way, it’s 46, not 47 as I stated last week.  I guess I just can’t count.

In my third year of having kids, I realized that a record of kids born by years was great, but I needed to look at each doe.  That’s when I created the record sheet below.

Click HERE for a printable version of the record.

This is what I envisioned~a picture in the box and a neatly typed sheet for each girl.  I can keep all those records in a file folder on my computer.  You’ll notice there is nothing to the right of Scarlet’s picture.  That is because I bought her, and I don’t know her pedigree.  The ID # refers to the Scrapie ID tag that was in her ear when I brought her home.  She has since lost the tag, but I did record her number before that happened.  There is generally enough room that I can put notes down regarding the birth.  For example, I pulled Luna, but it was pretty easy.  The (H) or (P) refers to whether the kid is horned or polled.  If there is nothing, both parents had horns, so the kids did too.

If you really want the Microsoft Word version that you can insert a picture into the square and type on, you’ll have to e-mail me because I can’t get it uploaded.

The reality is my records look more like Haley’s.  Kind of.  I generally print out the blank form and just write things in by hand.  I keep them all in alphabetical order by first name in a three-ring binder.  On the sheet below, you can see that I know a fair amount of Haley’s pedigree.  I know Fionn has bred her, but if she comes back into heat, I can always change my due date.  I figure the date by using my Bred/Birth chart.

Even after a girl has retired or died, I’ll keep her record.  It simply gets placed into a different section of the binder.  I keep it because occasionally I have to cross out the retired and record more births.  Millie!  After a year off, she and Marley decided to end her retirement, and she’s due to kid on March 2nd.

Millie Ann Saanen

With these two simple forms, I do a pretty good job of keeping track of my goats’ genealogies.  People ask or laugh about the last names of all my goats, but that also helps me keep track of my breeding lines.  I won’t breed an Osboer to an Osboer.  All of Fionn Osboer’s girls have the last name of Blackboer.  I know they are no relation on their fathers’ sides.  They might be related, but it won’t be close.  For example Fionn and Cinnamon are half second cousins.

Fionn Osboer

I highly recommend you start keeping records because the herd has a way of growing.  It’s just too hard to sell those cute kids!

Linking to Homestead Barn Hop.

107 Responses to “Record Keeping for Goats”

  1. Kim,USA January 9, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    I am interested in raising goats. In the Philippines there meat is more expensive than pork and if to choose which one is the best meat I prefer goat. ^_^ Happy Monday!

    • Teresa January 9, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      Goats are wonderful, and I wish I could keep all of mine as pets. 🙂 I hate to admit that my kids do end up in the food chain, but it is an expanding market here in the states. I milk some of my girls for my own use and make goats milk soap to sell.

  2. Sharon Qualls January 9, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Very, very good way of keeping track! (Bow now, for the applause)

    • Teresa January 9, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    • Mansoor October 30, 2017 at 3:30 am #

      Appreciate very much sharing your good work with us, good path shower for beginners, can i please have the word version of the records by email. thanks

  3. Tracy January 9, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Great system Teresa! I’d love a copy of the Word version for the pic.

    • Teresa January 9, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      I will get it to you this evening. 🙂

      • Dawn Werstein August 11, 2014 at 5:28 am #

        My husband and I are new to this……could you please email any information that could help us set up spreadsheets….Thank you

  4. Sandy January 9, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Very nice! Beats the heck out of my spiral notebook with printed pictures I cut out and tape on the pages lol

    • Teresa January 9, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

      Whatever works. If you want, I can e-mail you the word document so you can just paste a picture in and type in the boxes.

      • Haley May 4, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

        This is Great!!! would you be able to send me the word document to please? I would really appreciate it a lot.

  5. Candy C. January 9, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    Wow! Your records sure beat my index cards! LOL!! Very impressive!

    • Teresa January 9, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

      Feel free to borrow! I know I made what I needed because I didn’t see anything out there.

  6. Alica January 9, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Very nice record keeping!
    Give Fionn a hug for me! 🙂

    • Teresa January 9, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      Ummm….He’s kinda stinky anymore. I’ll just give him your message and a scritch between the horns.

  7. Chai Chai January 9, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    OK, I now need to get busy. Some wonderful ideas here!

    • Teresa January 9, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

      Hope you find it useful. I know it was hard to go back and add the first couple of years after I realized I needed better records.

  8. Susie Clevenger January 9, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    You are so organized…I have a hard time keeping up with my ink pens. Maybe that should be a goal for this year.

    • Teresa January 9, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

      I am a bit obsessive about my goats. That means good record keeping.

  9. Talon January 9, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    That seems a perfect way to keep track of your goats, Teresa. Your dedication and organization is inspiring. I don’t keep goats, but I could apply some of your skills to other areas for sure 🙂

    • Teresa January 10, 2012 at 6:16 am #

      This would work for any animal breeding. Organization helps me keep them healthy.

  10. Mimi Foxmorton January 10, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    Ok….those goatie smiles are breaking my heart!!!!!

    Fionn turned out so handsome I’d almost marry him myself!
    😉

    Remember when he was all smushed out and looking like a selkie…..?

    I only have a single record to keep: Darla-Zero
    lol

    • Teresa January 10, 2012 at 8:21 am #

      He is truly cute and sweet! Darla is easy to keep track of!

  11. Autumn January 10, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    How neat and organized for so many goats you have!

    • Teresa January 10, 2012 at 9:01 am #

      It does take a bit of work to keep track of everyone with how the herd has grown.

  12. EG Wow, Canada January 10, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    It’s not always fun to keep records but it sure makes life easier in the future if you do!

    • Teresa January 10, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      It does make it much better.

  13. Nancy January 10, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    I still think this is an awesome method you have. 🙂 I’m thrilled because Millie is due to kid on my birthday!

    • Teresa January 10, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      That’s cool. She usually goes over by about five days, so I’m expecting the baby to arrive on the 7th.

  14. Mandy January 11, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Wow! I’m impressed. Thanks for explaining how you keep records. This is our first year kidding (and lambing) so this is really helpful. Now we’ll at least look like we know what we’re doing! 🙂

    • Teresa January 11, 2012 at 10:22 am #

      It took me a few years to really get a system down. It’s nice to be able to go back and look at a doe’s production record. I hope this was helpful.

  15. jen January 12, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    Thank for all the info. I really am so glad I started following your blog, so much great info. for me to learn 🙂

    • Teresa January 12, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      It’s nice to know you find some useful things here.

  16. Nicholos Neil May 31, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    I’m interested in receiving the microsoft word record sheet. I’m from Jamaica and have been raring goats for over thirty years now but have never done any record keeping. I’m really impress and would love to have a copy. Keep up the good work.

    • Teresa May 31, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Thanks so much. It’s nice to hear I’m doing something right!

  17. Nicholos Anthonio Neil May 31, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    I’m from Jamaica and i’m really impress with your document for record keeping. Would love if you could email me the Microsoft word one for me to start my own. I have been raising goats for over twenty five years now and never kept any records. Due to the change of environment with the government.

  18. Chrisanne June 15, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    What a wonderful system you have created! Would love to have the Microsoft document to get our goats records organized (no more index cards).

  19. Rhonda June 26, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    I too appreciate your record keeping and your forms. Would you e-mail the forms so that I can add pictures and type in my information for our use? Thank You.

  20. Bev August 2, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    What a great system! This is my first year with goats, pigs, and chickens. My Emelia is due the end of August. I also have a 4 month weather for company. I will use this form for all record keeping. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and experience. I feel, at least I’m on the right track. One question. How do you decide to disbud the kids or not? What are the pros and cons of horns? I have 10 acres and there are fox and coyotes in the area although, I’ve not seen them in the yard. The goats are put up at night
    Thanks in advance!

    • Teresa August 2, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

      I do not disbud any of my goats. There is no correct answer. You have to do what is comfortable for you. If they have horns, you are going to get bruises. I’ve only had one wether that tried using his horns as a weapon, and I sold him. I don’t want a mean goat with or without horns. They do fight, but usually it’s not violent. I’ve only had one goat in nine years get hurt, and there were extenuating circumstance. I have had a couple of kids get injured, but they were trying to nurse the wrong mom, and that wrong mom is on her last hoof here. She’s been fine since retiring. It does seem like they got through a stretch where they get their horns stuck in fences. I do worry a bit, but my bigger pasture has seemed to take care of that. I’ve also fastened something to their horns so they can’t get their heads through to start with. The horns really do serve them well for scratching~this year has been horrible for ticks, and the horns work well for removing them. They also help to serve as part of the goat’s cooling system in hot weather. I personally like working with goats that have horns because they make great handles for catching, leading and holding.

      Goats are very easy targets for coyotes. I have a llama that really helps to keep them away. Good luck!

  21. Theresa Peters and Devin October 17, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    My son, age 12, has just informed me he may never have cattle BUT he will have goats. SO he now has his first doe and he will be using your record keeping methods. Thanks so much for the ideas! 😉

    • Teresa October 17, 2012 at 11:56 am #

      I’m so glad you’ve found it useful. I’m always glad to try and help out fellow goat lovers!

  22. Katrina January 8, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    This is just what I was looking for! I’m going to share this page on my facebook page https://www.facebook.com/TheChickenWire?ref=hl
    I like the idea of having the picture in the corner. I’ll e-mail you to get a link 🙂

    • Teresa January 8, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      Glad you liked it. Hope you find it useful.

  23. Tim & Kim Robinson February 9, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    My husband and I are in our first year of raising goats. I would greatly appreciate you sending me your form so we can keep records on each one of our goats. We have 3 females getting ready to birth in March and April. We are excited they are so fun to care for. Your blogs are helpful. Thanks!

  24. Jenny Mansheim September 23, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    I love your record keeping papers. Would you have both of them for microsoft word? I would love both. Could I use them on my website when it is done? I will give you the credit. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • Teresa September 23, 2013 at 10:01 am #

      I won’t give permission to have it put on a different website. I went to a lot of work to create this, and while I’m willing to share, I do think it’s not too much for people to come to my website to get it.

  25. Jen Leady October 28, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    I really enjoyed your blog. Lots of great pictures and information. If you could send me the Windows version of the forms, the doe record especially I would greatly appreciate it. I don’t think the does care but my memory is so bad I usually can’t remember where I left my head.
    Jen

  26. Ty November 23, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    Awesome sheets. Do you have one that you use for tracking any meds or treatments done to your goats? Like I always like to put down when hooves were trimmed or when I give probiotics.

    • Teresa November 23, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

      I don’t have a form made for that. I do keep that information, but I haven’t made a specific form.

      • Ty November 25, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

        So I do the opposite of you. I track treatments and meds and not family trees. I’ve not had a bunch of babies yet and no grandbabies so my trees are not big yet, 😛 I love your blog!! Keep up the good wok!!

      • Teresa November 25, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

        Thanks. I do keep track of treatments, but I don’t have a form. I simply keep it on the calendar.

  27. nadeem November 27, 2013 at 8:39 am #

    very good effort ,,i appreciate u done great job by making this sheet and putting it online ,,can you please send me this sheet on my email i am asking because here we have diffrent breeds in pakistan so i would like to make new sheet on the sam epatteren as per the breeds available here ,,hope u understand and help ,,,

  28. Charles January 13, 2014 at 3:30 am #

    This is very helpful! i would like the word version! is it by chance done in excel? thank you!

    • Teresa January 13, 2014 at 6:47 am #

      It is a Word document, not Excel.

  29. KIMBERLY LIN February 9, 2014 at 3:42 am #

    can you please send me a word document. so i can insert the picture. i would be deeply greatful. and thank you.

  30. Elaine February 24, 2014 at 9:52 am #

    Your recordkeeping system looks very helpful. I am planning to transfer my husband’s paper records and start using my computer for more accurate and easy to read records. He has been raising a small herd of meat goats. Could you send me a windows version of your forms? Thank you.

  31. Amy Matthews April 29, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    Thanks for the breeding record. Could you send me the Word version?

  32. Michael October 12, 2014 at 11:26 am #

    Found your site, and wow, thanks for the great info! We just started raising our own goats, and would really love the word version of your record keeping. Exactly what we need.

  33. Anonymous November 12, 2014 at 7:37 pm #

    What a WONDERFUL set up. It is just what I was searching for! It is perfect. I am new at this, and want to start out with proper record keeping. Thank you so very much. Now I need to learn how to set up a website…LOL

  34. Befikadu November 24, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

    Thank you very much you make me know what i want

  35. Befikadu November 24, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

    Once and again I thank you for your response

  36. LaVis Farm December 24, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

    Hi, just came across your site & it’s a joy to read. I’m also a genealogist raising goats. I do appreciate the goat genealogy record keeping as I also made forms. 😉

    • Teresa December 24, 2014 at 7:24 pm #

      It’s definitely a good thing to keep track of!

  37. Anonymous January 9, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

    Thanks for the sheet. It’s wonderful!

    • Teresa January 9, 2015 at 9:45 pm #

      Glad you like it!

  38. Kimberly White March 8, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

    Hello Teresa!! My name is Kim and I’d love to get your record keeping version with the ability to incert a picture plz!! I am so impressed with your system and will implement your record keeping forms as soon as I get them from you!!! Thank you for share your wealth of knowledge with the rest of us who are just beginning and want to start out on the right foot!!

  39. H Bartin (Hannnah Bartin) March 31, 2015 at 3:59 pm #

    Awesome! I’m using these forms for all of our goats!
    Thanks!

  40. H Bartin (Hannnah Bartin) March 31, 2015 at 4:00 pm #

    Teresa, How can I obtain a Microsoft version?

  41. Donna K. Anderson May 23, 2015 at 1:54 pm #

    Teresa, we are getting our buck, doe, doeling, and wether mid June. Would love word or excel version of your forms. If possible I will get as much information from the breeders. I like the organization.
    Thanks,
    Donna Anderson (newbie)

  42. Sherry May 28, 2015 at 9:29 am #

    Teresa,
    I would love to get your word Version. We are planning to get our goats next year and I want to keep good records. This looks like a perfect way to start on the right foot.

  43. colleen cummings July 6, 2015 at 4:09 pm #

    I would love your forms! They look thorough but easy for me to use. We are in the middle of our 1st kidding season with our little herd(4 pregnant does) and would like to start keeping records before we get too far in to it.

  44. ironhorsefarmgirl December 28, 2015 at 1:09 pm #

    love this!! thank you!!

  45. Lisa D Wiedenhoefer January 19, 2016 at 4:06 pm #

    If you don’t mind I would love a copy of your individual chart for tracking.Please and thank you.

  46. Chris Diotte January 23, 2016 at 3:09 pm #

    I would love a copy of your charts. I will start my herd this spring and would like to get things in order before the kiddies arrive.

  47. Rodney Sharpe January 24, 2016 at 12:22 pm #

    I would like a copy of your chart, before kidding season?

    Rodney Sharpe

    Thanks

  48. Rodney Sharpe January 24, 2016 at 12:24 pm #

    I am new to goats and looking for any help and I can find, yours is in the right directions.

  49. Hangue Kavita December 18, 2016 at 4:18 am #

    Hey great record you’ve got here. I’m interested in the Microsoft version kindly email me.

  50. Sherri March 5, 2017 at 10:20 pm #

    Hello. Could I please get the copy where I can upload a picture my goat to the spreadsheet? Thank you very much.

  51. Helen Kovac March 13, 2017 at 10:23 pm #

    Please send me the editable version that I can add pictures to. I really appreciate your hard work. I’m fairly new at having a herd of goats.

  52. Anonymous March 26, 2017 at 10:19 pm #

    Great tips! Thanks for the forms.

  53. Robin Brandewie April 10, 2017 at 6:23 pm #

    I would love to get a Word version of this for the picture please…this will make record keeping so much easier as we have grown our herd a lot this year

  54. Sherri May 5, 2017 at 10:02 pm #

    Hello. I will be raising goats in a couple of years and this will be perfect to help me keep nice records. I would love the version I can add the picture to. Thank you and have a great day.

  55. Herbert Herrmann July 23, 2017 at 11:32 pm #

    Excellent I would love the word doc please.

  56. Anonymous August 20, 2017 at 7:31 am #

    Could you send me the word doc please

    • Teresa August 20, 2017 at 8:08 am #

      Not when you are anonymous. You have to fill out at least the e-mail section of the comment form. It won’t publish your e-mail; only I get to see it.

      • Anonymous August 21, 2017 at 5:41 pm #

        Sorry never realised, should be it now

      • Sammy Naulikha September 19, 2020 at 5:03 am #

        Hello Teresa, I am very much impressed with your goats’ record keeping. I am an upcoming goats farmer in Kenya and would appreciate if you can share your email so that can be seeking some guidance from you. Thanks.

  57. Anonymous October 16, 2017 at 9:49 pm #

    Would love the click-and-fill copy of this, please!

    • tarik November 17, 2017 at 2:53 pm #

      What a wonderful system you have created! Would love to have the Microsoft document to get our goats records organized.

  58. Mohammed December 19, 2017 at 2:42 am #

    thanks a lot Teresa for precious info. Appreciate if you could send me all the record copies to my email. May god bless u for your good work.

  59. Jackie January 8, 2018 at 10:24 pm #

    Could you please email me the Microsoft version of these? I have arthritis and horrible handwritting.
    Email address:
    Thank you!

  60. Tracy walker January 22, 2018 at 9:35 am #

    Could you email me the word version of your goat record form that a photo can be inserted into? Love the form! Thank you!

  61. Mel Semento April 29, 2018 at 6:44 pm #

    I would love to have a word copy of your record keeping sheet!! Itlooks so much more simple than what I am using!

  62. Sheila May 20, 2018 at 10:24 am #

    2 things I love ur birthing charts but can’t get them to print is there any way u could send 1 to my email and 2 I am on a fb group it’s called goat vet corner and most questions are answered by vets only it seems to be a good group of people minus a few crazies every one in awhile

    • Teresa May 20, 2018 at 10:45 am #

      I will be happy to send the chart. I must say I do not belong to any on-line goat groups because they drive me crazy. I would also question a vet who is willing to tell people how to treat an animal they haven’t seen. Most reputable vets won’t give that kind of advice without seeing an animal. I just went through this with trying to find a vet that knew about copper deficiency. They would not speak to me about it but were happy to have my vet call for a consultation.

      • Roxanna Willoughby October 2, 2018 at 8:40 am #

        Hello! I just found your site and I would love the word document of the birthing record. Thank you!

        Roxi

  63. Brady Defrain December 21, 2018 at 8:52 am #

    Great script!

  64. BRENT Ozanne April 16, 2019 at 9:25 am #

    Hello my name is brent we are missionaries in honduras in bilingual Christian school in which we teach animal science i would love to have the version emailed to me please that i can put on my computer and teach the kids to manage, thank you so much for your information and your commitment to this project

  65. Cassandra Teneycke August 2, 2019 at 6:59 pm #

    Could you email me the word version of your goat record. Thank You!!

  66. Ephraim Mafalo April 26, 2020 at 7:53 am #

    hi Teresa, i am a south African, breeding on BOER GOAT.In fact i am crossing my indeginous breed to pure Boer goats with a view to breed Stud herd soon. Very interested ib keeping meticulous record as you so impressively seem to be doing out there. kindly email me the word version of the spreadsheet with the tail count part. Thanks.

  67. Ephraim Mafalo April 26, 2020 at 7:58 am #

    hi Teresa, i am a south African, breeding on BOER GOAT.In fact i am crossing my indigenous breed to pure Boer Goats with a view to breed Stud Herd soon. Very interested in keeping meticulous record as you so impressively seem to be doing out there. kindly email me the word version of the spreadsheet with the tail count part. Thanks. (note edited version)

  68. R. Harry February 22, 2021 at 7:46 pm #

    Hi good night I’m interested in the Window version of the breeding record

  69. Jennifer April 10, 2021 at 10:31 am #

    Hi,
    I would love to get a copy of your chart that you can type in. Thank you so much!

  70. Mari Jo Young June 22, 2022 at 11:42 pm #

    Can you please email me the word document for the breeding chart? Thank you
    Mari Jo

  71. Nosipho Hlomela July 2, 2023 at 10:01 am #

    Thank you for sharing your work with us. Could you please email me a record for monitoring new births.
    Thanks again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogging Review and a Question « Eden Hills's Blog - December 30, 2012

    […] Record Keeping for Goats with 1219 views […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.