The Rest of the Story

29 Apr

If you follow my farm on Facebook, you get pretty up-to-the-minute updates when we’re kidding.  So I shared Sunday afternoon that Aphrodite had kidded.

Here’s the rest of the story.  I noticed just before 11:00 that Aphrodite was in labor.  I ran in for a quick bite to eat and got back out there at 11:30.  She was pushing. After a minute or so, the bag broke, but when she had the next contraction, there were no feet.  I went in and found a nose.  This isn’t my first time, so I pushed the baby back and got the feet.  But then I couldn’t find the head.  It was completely twisted back.  I called the emergency vet service and found that I was going to have to call ISU Field Services.  I called them, and they started on their way.  Then I waited.

It is a horrible agonizing wait when you know your girl is in pain and the baby is likely not going to survive long and there’s absolutely nothing you can do.  It really is one of the few ob things I can’t do on my own.  Finally, the vet arrived, and they went in and immediately got her big buck out.  But he was not alive.  I cannot tell you how grateful I am that she had another kid in there and that her little girl was alive and strong.

As the vet and I talked, I do believe the reason the kid was head first is because he was already gone.  It’s been a horrible year for copper–four years of drought will do that.  Hay quality is bad; I have the kids with broken legs; the moms who are losing hair.  I swear it’s crazy trying to treat the goats for copper and never really knowing where they are and how much they need.  So the vet took the liver from Aphrodite’s baby, and it is being tested.

Harmonia

If I had to lose him, hopefully, at least some good can come from it.  I should have the copper results from the liver panel before long.  It’s not 100%, but it should give me a better idea of where the rest of the herd is at with their copper levels.

7 Responses to “The Rest of the Story”

  1. Jeanne April 29, 2024 at 5:19 pm #

    So, happiness and sadness, both. What a bummer that the buck didn’t make it. I so happy, though that you got Harmonia alive and beautiful She’s really special.

    • Teresa April 29, 2024 at 6:56 pm #

      I do wish we never lost any, but I am so grateful Aphrodite is okay and she has her girl.

      • Jeanne April 29, 2024 at 9:02 pm #

        I feel the same way for Aphrodite, and her babe. She is just as cute as can be!

  2. scotiaspinner April 29, 2024 at 6:09 pm #

    Harmonia is a cutie! I’m sorry you lost the buck. That’s what happened with Lucky Nickel – she was the second kid, and her brother didn’t make it. Sadly neither did her mom. I’m glad Aphrodite is fine. It will be very interesting to hear about the liver results.

    • Teresa April 29, 2024 at 6:55 pm #

      I am so glad she has her girl. And I am sograteful that I have access to emergency vet services. I do hope the liver testing can give me some insight into where the herd is with copper.

  3. Eileen Wise April 30, 2024 at 3:34 pm #

    I have been away for an Arizona vacation. I am so sorry to hear the buck did not survive, good news is the female the little girl survived, so cute! Take care, enjoy your day and the week ahead.

    • Teresa April 30, 2024 at 5:27 pm #

      I do hope you had an enjoyable vacation.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.