Friday’s Hunt v3.2

13 Jan

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter.  Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week the topics will be:  Starts with C, Week’s Favorite, and odd angle.   I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top.  I am crazy busy with teaching and working on the farm right now, but I will make sure to visit all participants.  Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with B:  I’ve had quite a few goats whose names began with B:  Bam Bam, Bambi, Bandit, Barbie, Barnaby, Barney, Barney, Baxter, BB, Beau, BeBop, Bekka, Belle, Ben, Benny, Bert, Bert, Beryl, Betty Lou, Billy, Blaze, Bling, Blondie, Blossom, Blyssin, Bo, Bode, Boeris, Bonnie, Boris, Brindle, Brownie, Brutus, Buck, Buck, Bud, Buffy, Bullseye, Bullwinkle, Bunny, Buster, and Butterscotch.  While I still have the goats in bold, I’m sharing Brindle and Bode today.  This is the image I’ve chosen for the 2017 tail count (which will be updated in my side bar as we have kids).

Brindle and Bode

Brindle and Bode

Week’s Favorite:  I’ve still been working on my artsy stuff with books.  Here are a couple that I’ve finished.

faith-hope-love_9160ews

book-art_9173ews

Creature:  I have a lot of creatures on my farm, but when I heard my peacocks yell a warning call and went into the chicken coop the other night, I saw a creature I did not want to see in there.  Can you see it?

chickens-in-coop_9163ews

Here’s a closer look.  I was not happy, and it was removed.  I’ve lost too many birds lately due to weather and neighbor cats to lose any more.

opossum_9164ews

At work today, I also got to meet this creature!  Isn’t she beautiful?

tarantula

Now it’s your turn!

18 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v3.2”

  1. scotiaspinner January 13, 2017 at 7:06 pm #

    Wow, your crafty book art is becoming more complex – I really love the new folded books! Such a different idea – I haven’t seen anything like that around here! I once had an opossum in Van Meter that took several of my chickens one winter. I didn’t think it was him until I caught him in the act. I read that most of them are just scavengers of dead things, but some are definitely killers! They are really cute, but I understand you needing to dispatch it. Glad you heard the warning call! That spider is gorgeous! Is her fur soft or is it spiky feeling?

    • Teresa January 13, 2017 at 7:13 pm #

      Her fur was soft, but she has pointy toenails. I am fine with the opossums in the barn and elsewhere, but not with the birds. I hate to do it, but I really don’t want to lose more birds.

  2. Ralph January 13, 2017 at 8:32 pm #

    Your book art is amazing, stylish and wonderful conversation starters! Glad you took care of th menace looking for dinner. Your herd is full of ‘B’. Cute arachnid…right 🙂

  3. Jeanne January 13, 2017 at 10:58 pm #

    I don’t care for ‘possums. When we first moved here 22 years ago, there were quite a few of those rascals in our yard off and on. We live about three or four blocks from the edge of town, with the river to the south and the forest to the west. We also had quite a few raccoons. But no cute goats or chickens! But those ‘possums were mean! The ones in this area aren’t dark like the one you pictured, they’re nearly white.

  4. Margaret January 13, 2017 at 11:30 pm #

    Love the tail of the 2 goats in the first shot. I am glad you got rid of the guy from your chicken coop hello your hens looked very contented with him there. Many thanks for hosting and I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    • Teresa January 14, 2017 at 8:21 am #

      The hens had all been roosting on the board where the opossum was until he came in.

  5. Gattina January 14, 2017 at 2:34 am #

    Eeew this spider ! disgusting ! your artwork is very creative ! How can you keep all these names in your mind ??

    • Teresa January 14, 2017 at 8:22 am #

      I admit, I had to go back to my records to get the full list of names. Too many years of kidding to do it from memory. Although, I could probably do all of 2016 kids yet.

  6. Alica January 14, 2017 at 8:15 am #

    Your book art is great! You are so creative! Ugh on the possum…I had a hawk eat one of my chickens a couple of weeks ago. Although there are a lot of them around, it’s the first time I lost one this way!

    • Teresa January 14, 2017 at 8:23 am #

      Sorry to hear you lost a chicken. I do like mine in the pen–that’s the only reason they are penned. It usually keeps them safe. I need to do some work on it and figure out where the opossum came in and re-do the chicken wire to keep the neighbor cats from grabbing through.

  7. Robyn Nichols January 14, 2017 at 4:28 pm #

    What do you teach? From the spider, I my guess is art or Biology? I teach 9th grade English. And… the spider really IS beautiful!

    • Teresa January 14, 2017 at 4:53 pm #

      I teach high school English. The tarantula was being rehomed with a sped teacher.

  8. pattisj January 14, 2017 at 7:16 pm #

    I really like your book art! My mom and I went to collect chicken eggs once, when I reached into the box I felt the tail of an opossum and thought it was a snake! I think Tarantulas are pretty, but I wouldn’t want one. Not my idea of a furry pet! LOL

  9. Jackie January 14, 2017 at 7:41 pm #

    Loving your book art work and you are inspiring me!!

  10. Anney Horlacher January 15, 2017 at 2:41 pm #

    I LOVE your faith hope and love board!!

  11. Jim January 16, 2017 at 10:55 pm #

    Got to keep the chickens safe, especially at night. One of my growing up jobs was to go around the trees and check for chickens roosting outside. If I found one I would use the chicken catcher, a wire with a handle on one end and a hook on the other.
    I am surprised that you didn’t have a “Billy Goat.” He was my intro to Goats, Billy Goat Gruff.
    ..

  12. brokenbarn February 19, 2017 at 6:34 pm #

    I love the art projects you are doing! Beautiful.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Horses are… | Midnight Calico Farm - January 15, 2017

    […] post is being shared with Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills, where the prompts are Starts with B, Week’s Favorite and […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.