Changes in the Herd

14 Jan

Last night I caught my June kids that needed to be sold and penned them in the Love Shack.

goat-kids_9179ews

Well, Strawberry and Vanilla were in the yard, and I left Red out because I had to spend the night steeling my heart to selling him.

goat-kids_9183ews

Of course, I woke this morning to the kids crying because their moms were going out to pasture without them.  That means Red was going out to pasture.  After I spent so much time telling myself how I want the herd to be smaller and I don’t need another wether, well, he’s still here.  We’ll see if I get motivated to actually take him to the sale some Saturday.

Red

Red

Y0u might noticed that I said Strawberry was leaving.  Well, I was going to keep her, but, like I said, I do want the herd to shrink in size.  I also decided to make a selection that has a better build.  Just so you don’t think I’ve turned all good livestock farmer, I also wanted to keep this girl because I retired her mom (bad livestock farmer) and I just wanted to keep her last girl.  Princess is staying here!

Litha and Princess

Litha and Princess

I also kept Bambi’s girl, Daisy.  I think she’ll be a good milker.  She’s grown really well too.

Daisy

Daisy

Of course, I am keeping Ava as a milk doe also.  She’s been such a little stinker lately (a throwback to her great-grandma Meg’s personality).  She’s been butting all the other kids (especially Elmer).

Ava

Ava

I thought Ava might like company since she is by herself right now, so I put Cutie in the barnyard (she lost her two yard kid companions too), but Ava was being a little stinker to her.  Ava about knocked Cutie off her feet.

Cutie Pie

Cutie Pie

Hopefully, everyone will adjust quickly.

9 Responses to “Changes in the Herd”

  1. Anne January 14, 2017 at 6:46 pm #

    I don’t see how you keep it all straight! They all look happy.

    • Teresa January 14, 2017 at 6:51 pm #

      Good record keeping, and I spend time with them everyday.

  2. Coloring Outside the Lines January 14, 2017 at 6:57 pm #

    They are all so cute and I would have such a hard time decided which ones to sell and which ones to keep.

    • Teresa January 14, 2017 at 6:58 pm #

      This year was really hard with all the kids we were giving bottles to.

  3. pattisj January 14, 2017 at 7:22 pm #

    I don’t envy your job of thinning the herd. Red is handsome. I hope they all get along!

  4. brokenteepee January 14, 2017 at 10:45 pm #

    It is never easy. They each have such personalities. It was getting harder and harder for me….

  5. Gayle venturesinphotos January 15, 2017 at 7:11 am #

    Tough decisions.

  6. Jeanne January 17, 2017 at 1:53 am #

    It’s tough making such decisions! Have you come any closer to a decision about Red? I understand what you mean about keeping the wether.

    • Teresa January 17, 2017 at 7:18 am #

      I have no idea. I’m most likely going to just ignore the situation.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

