Imbolic

2 Feb

February 2nd is groundhog day.  It’s also known as Imbolic.  It’s a time to celebrate because we’ve made it half way through the winter.  The days are getting longer, and in six weeks, it will be the spring equinox~equal hours of light and dark.  It’s a time of new beginnings.

It’s time to start thinking about the garden I’ll be planting this summer.  In some warmer climates it’s even time to begin plowing.

For now, I’ll gather my seeds and wait a bit longer.

I’ll light a candle and gather pretty rocks from nature.  I’ll celebrate the first stirrings of spring that are usually hidden beneath a blanket of snow.

still life

This time is also the celebration of the first lambs/kids.  In fact we celebrated my oldest goats’ birthdays yesterday.  I plan for new births on the farm.  One of my birthday girls, Millie, is due to have a kid on March 2nd.

Millie Ann Saanen

I’ve also decided that Lily is indeed bred to have kids on March 2.  Looking at her round belly you’d think that was obvious, but she’s also just fat.

Lily Osboer

What finally has me convinced is the beginning of an udder (oh, she’d be mad at me for this picture).

 My girls born last March are getting ready to become mothers themselves in the summer.

Bonnie Blackboer

I am enjoying an increase in the number of eggs I’m finding in the chicken coop.

This is Imbolic.

birth and death cycles

filled with life’s beauty between

Mother Nature’s craft

Linking to Farmgirl Friday.

Linking to You Capture where the theme this week is still life.

Linking to Friday’s Fences.

Linking to A Reason to Be Cheerful hosted by Planet Penny.

Source HERE.

68 Responses to “Imbolic”

  1. Alica February 2, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Halfway to spring…I like that!

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

      It certainly is a nice thought isn’t it!

  2. TexWisGirl February 2, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    thanks for explaining what the day means to you. sounds like a nice reason to celebrate – rather like winter’s ‘hump day’. 🙂

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      That’s a perfect way of describing it! 🙂

  3. Candy C. February 2, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Halfway through the dark of winter, the stirrings of new life, what wonderful reasons to celebrate! I sometimes forget the lesser holidays, thanks for the reminder! 🙂

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

      Other than the fun of seeing a cute groundhog, people tend to forget that this really is an agricultural holiday. Truly lots of reasons to celebrate!

  4. Janis February 2, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    I have never heard of this term…thanks for sharing! I will be soooo happy to welcome spring in!!!

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      It is a very old term for the celebration. I’m certainly ready for the longer days.

  5. Pondside February 2, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    I love your little Goat Girls.
    Eggs – we are having a mini-glut of eggs and I don’t know why. Perhaps the hens know something we don’t.

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      It’s always nice to have a lot of eggs to share. 🙂 These are my young girls. I’m afraid to see how many eggs I’ll be getting in another month or two.

  6. G-Man February 2, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Millies Knocked up?
    That Wanton Hussy!
    I really liked your candle/garlic pic, it seemed so Spell-Like!!
    Fantastic 55 Teresa.
    Thanks for playing, and have a Kick Ass Week-End

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      I must have my multiple personalities mixed up. Glad you stopped by the farm. Millie is due on March 2, and she’s quite pleased with herself. She did not have my permission for this, but when the buck opens the 14-foot gate with a cattle panel wired to it and wired shut, there’s not a lot you can do to stop them.

  7. Sharon Qualls February 2, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    I don’t know if the peacock has a name, but ____ you are beautiful!

    Really a nice post! I have been watching the days getting longer, minute by minute!

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      It is wonderful every morning to notice the sun coming up when I’m still a bit farther from work and stay up so I’m a bit less rushed for getting chores done in the evening. I’m certainly someone who needs my sunlight.

  8. Marigold and the Goatmother February 2, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Happy Imbolc! I am seriously in love with that photo of Bonnie!

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      Bonnie is a beautiful girl!

  9. kateri February 2, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    I love the idea of celebrating the return of spring in the begining of Febuary. It has been a treat to come home from work and still have a bit of daylight left! Oh, I do love the photo of Bonnie…

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      I really am starting to notice the lengthening days. It’s so nice. Bonnie is an amazingly beautiful girl!

  10. Rain February 2, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Lovely post……..will keep us going awhile longer…..spring……
    ~~Rain

    • Teresa February 2, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      We are half way there! Spring will be here soon.

  11. Sivinden February 3, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    The goat is posing for you behind the fence. Like:)

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 6:15 am #

      Bonnie was posing perfectly. I couldn’t resist.

  12. Planet Penny February 3, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    What a lovely post, it’s great to see all your girls, and the thoughts of Spring to come! Thanks for joining in with Reasons to be Cheerful! x

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 6:16 am #

      It’s a wonderful idea~spreading reasons to be cheerful!

  13. rebecca February 3, 2012 at 5:42 am #

    Terrific photos. I love the goat on the fence.

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 6:16 am #

      Thanks~Bonnie is quite the beauty!

  14. Beth - Virginia February 3, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    great pics. that goat is too cute!! i love it when animals pose for their picture. makes me smile. i bet they are just like people some enjoy the camera & other run. ha. ha!! (:

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 6:17 am #

      That is so true! There’s a couple that really would just prefer not to be photographed, but most enjoy it!

  15. Lisa @ Two Bears Farm February 3, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    That’s great your hens are laying more. Ours are still be lazy. We’ll get an egg every few days, randomly. I have one hen that hasn’t laid since last summer – and she’s not even 2 yet!

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 6:17 am #

      All my hens but one were just hatched the first of August, so they are all just starting. I’m going to have eggs coming out my ears pretty soon. 🙂

  16. Stacia February 3, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    Could those gorgeous goats have faces that are any more expressive?? Love them all.

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 7:06 am #

      They really are sweet!

  17. Ana Eugenio February 3, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    what a delightful tour through your farm. didn’t know what groundhog day meant, we don’t have it in Portugal and enjoyed learning about it. have a great weekend. xxo

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 7:08 am #

      This is a much older look at the date. Groundhog day has come to mean just a fun day to see if the groundhog sees his shadow, but it is a much older richer tradition than most people celebrate.

  18. dianne7777 February 3, 2012 at 6:41 am #

    the peacock is magnificent and Bonnie at the red fence is fantastic

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 7:09 am #

      Thanks. The peacock has just started showing his tail off like spring is already here.

  19. Pat February 3, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    I’m eagerly awaiting spring, although winter has been really mild.
    Bonnie looks like she wants a bit of attention! Such a cute photo!

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      She’s not usually one to stand up on the gate. I can’t even remember what she was so interested in.

  20. claudia February 3, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    gathering the seeds and lighting candles..as a farmer you live much more with the seasons than the office worker does.. can’t wait until spring bursts forth..

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 9:51 am #

      I do truly love my life close to nature! These little holidays have a lot more meaning in the country. Thanks for stopping by.

  21. M~ February 3, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    We have had a bumber crop of eggs all winter and I’m very perplexed as to why. We keep the light on as we do every winter, we’re using the same feed we always have, but for some reason we have more eggs than we know what to do with. I think we must just have very industrious hens this season!
    As always, love your photos 🙂

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      Thanks. I was down to getting few eggs, and then the raccoon massacre occured, so having plenty of eggs again is a nice change! I think this weather has everyone messed up~your girls must think it’s still summer and just keep on laying.

  22. itsallaboutpurple February 3, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    planting with seeds is so much more rewarding!! what a wonderful peak in to country living!! i love the eggs!!

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      Thanks for stopping by. It is nice to be out in the country, and you can’t beat farm fresh eggs!

  23. Bridget Larsen February 3, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    oh how I would love to have home grown eggs
    Bridget #41

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      They really are so much better than anything you can buy in the store. I am grateful for my girls.

  24. kimandrew February 3, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    Gorgeous photos, but I love the peacock strutting his stuff. Thanks for stopping by my photo blog.

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      It is really beautiful to see him out there dancing. Thanks for stopping by.

  25. Tonya February 3, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    Wow, you have quite the variety of beautiful animals for subject matter. That must help keep things interesting. I love your banner, all those little goats, made me smile! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • Teresa February 3, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      It’s never boring around my place!

  26. Gina February 3, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    WOW- love that first one

  27. Jen C. February 4, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    Wow, I can’t believe that winter is halfway done and spring is coming soon! I wonder if our spring will be delayed since our autumn and winter happened at the same time….

    Looks like you’ll be busy at the beginning of March with the new births! Can’t wait to meet the new members of your goat family!

    • Teresa February 4, 2012 at 7:47 am #

      I’m thinking we might have a late spring as long as we stayed warm. I guess only time will tell.

  28. Kathy aka ToadMama February 4, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    I love your pics! I am linking to Bonnie Blackboer in a blog post, which will be up later today at http://www.toadmama.com.

    • Teresa February 4, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      I will certainly come and check it out.

  29. jen February 4, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    Beautiful post on Imbolic…you always post such pretty pics. only 1 more month for new sweet babies, cant wait to see them. Thats when I have to dry up my girls… dang I’m gonna miss their milk for a few months.

    • Teresa February 4, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      Minnie finally cut her production down enough that I’m letting her dry up, so I’m back to buying milk. I can hardly wait for fresh milk again.

  30. Kathy aka ToadMama February 4, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    I linked back to your post today. Check it out at ToadMama’s Interstitial Space.

    • Teresa February 4, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      Thanks for the nice shout out!

  31. Tammy February 4, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    A lovely post.
    Our winter has been so mild, I think it actually has me thinking more about spring than usual.

    • Teresa February 4, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      Me too. I’d love to be out playing in the garden with the warm weather we’ve had, but it’s way too early for that yet.

  32. Margaret February 4, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    Just beautiful…and Bonnie the goat is gorgeous!

    • Teresa February 4, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

      Thanks. She has quite the unique markings.

  33. mysimplecountryliving (Heidi) February 5, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Hello Teresa,
    Thank you for another great post. I am really looking forward to the longer days too. Spring is my favorite part of the year. It’s teaming with new life everywhere, all kinds. I love to see the circle renewed. Have a wonderful week and thank you for sharing this awesome post on the Farmgirl Friday Blog Hop!

    • Teresa February 5, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

      So glad you stopped by. Spring really is my favorite time of year.

  34. Tatjana Parkacheva February 7, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Beautiful post.

    Regards and best wishes

    • Teresa February 7, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.