Archive | 4:17 pm

Browsing in the Pasture

24 Jun

Well, the heat is back. So far, I haven’t had to go back to using the AC because the kids are bigger, Zora is improving, and Astra is holding her own.  But they are still up in the north paddock and Morton building, so I can keep a close eye on them.

Zora, Joy, Purl, and Astra

The rest of the goats are out in pasture browsing, and I am going out to make sure nobody is getting too hot.

the goats by the ditch

They are still mostly staying under the trees.

Popcorn

Tansy and Thunder

Sassy Pants

Dusty with a belly scritch

Stu lying at the edge of the ditch and still snacking on a piece of grass

There’s more grass out there than I’ve seen in several years.  That’s a good thing; although, I have had some kids get separated and struggle getting back with the herd.  I am certainly not going to let them out onto the back half. I’d never find them again.

Chiffon and Hera

LilyAnn

So far there’s enough to eat and shade and water on the front half, so they are happy.  After we make hay, they can go on the back half. Maybe.