Northern Shrike

11 Feb

Be warned, there are pictures of wild animals being wild animals in this post.  I was surprised to see a medium sized bird in with my chickens when I was doing chores.  I ususally only see small sparrows or finches in the barn.  This one was certainly gaining the attention of my chickens.

chickens and northern shrike

It was a bit nervous about being in the back corner with me in the barn, so it flew to the roost.

northern shrike

northern shrike

Then it tried leaving, but wouldn’t fit through the little wire openings.

northern shrike

After sitting and thinking about it for a little while, this plucky little bird decided he wasn’t leaving without what he had come here for…supper.

chicken and northern shrike

The northern shrike is a medium-sized song bird, but it is known for feeding on smaller song birds, like this sparrow.

northern shrike eating sparrow

It sat and scolded my chickens as they came near.  I’ve never seen such a determined little bird.   After sitting for a minute, it took off with the sparrow.  It really seemed way more concerned about losing its supper to my chickens than me taking pictures.

northern shrike with sparrow

It kept working its way towards the door with its prey.  All the while, it was scolding my big chickens, who really didn’t want to mess with this feisty little bird.

chickens and northern shrike

northern shrike with sparrow

Finally, it made it out the door, but that wasn’t the last hurdle to have supper.

northern shrike with sparrow

He still had to make it through the outside fence.

northern shrike with sparrow

After dumping the sparrow through, the shrike followed.

northern shrike with sparrow

It was hard work and time to rest again.

northern shrike

By this time, the bird had figured out I wasn’t too scary.  I’m not sure it knew I would also protect it from my geese if needed.  They’d have no problems with grabbing that sparrow (or the shrike) for a snack.

northern shrike

It was just a short rest, and then it was time to get the sparrow out from beneath him.

northern shrike with sparrow

northern shrike with sparrow

northern shrike with sparrow

Time to take off again!

northern shrike with sparrow

This time, it really went a ways before stopping again.  I did see it was on the south side of the barn, but it was gone with the sparrow before too long.

northern shrike flying between goats

I’d never seen one of these cute little killer before.  I’m very impressed with him.  You can read more about the northern shrike HERE, and you can hear that raucous noise he/she made to warn my chickens.

Sharing at Wild Bird Wednesday, Wordless Wednesday at Create With Joy, and Bird d’Pot.

41 Responses to “Northern Shrike”

  1. Coloring Outside the Lines February 11, 2014 at 1:03 pm #

    Brave little dude!

    • Teresa February 11, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

      I was very impressed with him mouthing off to those bigger birds.

  2. Gunilla Bäck February 11, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

    Awesome photos! A brave bird and I’m impressed he could fly off with the sparrow.

    • Teresa February 11, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

      Thanks. It was fascinating to watch.

  3. stevebethere February 11, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

    That was interesting I was well into your story and pictures and learnt something new 🙂

    Have a tanfastic rest of weak 😉

    • Teresa February 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

      Thanks. It was fascinating, and I’d never seen one of these little birds before.

  4. HansHB February 11, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

    Nice post!

  5. Cindy Strickland February 11, 2014 at 4:01 pm #

    I had to remove a juvenile red tail hawk from my chicken coop once. I was able to get him/her trapped in a corner long enough to grab it by the legs and once upside down, like so many birds, it was powerless. I took him/her outside and watched it fly off into the distance. It was beautiful. After that I had to figure out how he was getting in! Haven’t had another problem since.

    • Teresa February 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

      Glad you got rid of the hawk. I don’t think this one could hurt my big hens, but I am going to have chicks in the spring.

  6. Eileen February 11, 2014 at 4:30 pm #

    Amazing series of Shrike photos. Cool sight to see! It was determined not to leave without having its dinner first. Enjoy the rest of your week!

    • Teresa February 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

      Thanks. There was no way that sparrow was not going with it.

  7. Carole M. February 11, 2014 at 4:44 pm #

    oh, a very interesting post and he is a handsome bird too. Guess he was finding shelter and warmth in the chook-roost? Wonder will he return there…

    • Teresa February 11, 2014 at 6:17 pm #

      I’ve never seen one before. I’d guess our really cold winter has brought it close to the buildings where there are about a billion sparrows.

  8. Pat February 11, 2014 at 5:48 pm #

    Awesome series. What a determined and brave little bird.

    • Teresa February 11, 2014 at 6:18 pm #

      I couldn’t believe how it stood up to those big birds. They seemed to be mildly amused by it.

  9. Alica February 11, 2014 at 8:34 pm #

    I must say…I’m impressed with the feisty little bird! He looks too little to be carrying that sparrow around like a hawk!

    • Teresa February 11, 2014 at 8:42 pm #

      I know! Before smart people on Facebook told me what it was, I thought it was a miniature hawk with super powers (yep, that’s the kind of birder I am).

      • Candy C. February 12, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

        Ha-ha! That’s the kind of birder I am too!

      • Teresa February 12, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

        🙂

  10. vintagehomesewist February 12, 2014 at 7:48 am #

    Wow, what a plucky little fellow! How fun that you got his bravery on camera! 🙂

    • Teresa February 12, 2014 at 8:09 am #

      It really was just luck that I happened to be there.

  11. John February 12, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    Too cool. I never thought about song birds being killers. Thanks for taking the time to post!

    • Teresa February 12, 2014 at 11:15 am #

      I hadn’t either. It’s a very interesting bird!

  12. Candy C. February 12, 2014 at 2:13 pm #

    Interesting post! I hadn’t even heard of these birds before this! I’m also surprised he/she could carry off the sparrow.

    • Teresa February 12, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

      I had heard of it, but that was it. Luckily, smart people could point me in the right direction and Cornell University has a great site to help determine which shrike it was and give me all those juicy tidbits of information.

  13. Adam Jones February 12, 2014 at 2:34 pm #

    Brilliant pictures, and a great story of nature as it happens. Smashing bird.

  14. itsallaboutpurple February 12, 2014 at 9:11 pm #

    ooohhhh the old circle of life!! I know all about it but it still breaks my heart!

    • Teresa February 12, 2014 at 9:16 pm #

      I know. It was fascinating to see that small bird standing up to the big chickens and fighting for his dinner.

  15. Leovi February 13, 2014 at 2:55 am #

    Wonderful sequence of photos, the bird is very bold!

    • Teresa February 13, 2014 at 6:35 am #

      Yes, it is! Thanks for stopping by.

  16. EG CameraGirl February 13, 2014 at 8:08 am #

    The shrike was doing what came naturally. Just last week I saw a shrike dive into a snowbank to catch a mouse, then carry it to a tree branch. Boy they are fast! And fierce!

    • Teresa February 13, 2014 at 8:52 am #

      I’d never seen one before, so it was completely amazing for me to watch!

  17. Brian King February 15, 2014 at 8:15 am #

    That’s pretty awesome! Determination, indeed! I guess if you’re hungry enough you’ll do just about anything. We don’t have shrikes around here, but they’re very striking birds.

    • Teresa February 15, 2014 at 8:16 am #

      I’d never seen one before. I’d guess our cold winter brought it up to my buildings to hunt from the many sparrows hanging around.

  18. Anni @ I'd Rather B Birdin' February 16, 2014 at 5:39 am #

    We have loggerhead shrikes here in our area, marked very similar but I think a bit larger than your species you shared. And yes, they are ‘killers’…in fact, I read somewhere that shrikes are nicknamed the impaler bird…they’ve been seen hanging their prey on wires and nail heads to slaughter them before eating them. Nasty buggers, but ever so pretty.

    At first when you warned us, I thought your critters were gonna get the shrike!!

    Excellent post of nature taking its course.

    • Teresa February 16, 2014 at 7:35 am #

      I had never seen one before, but I’m very amazed. I’m guessing it was in the barn because of the harsh winter. That’s why I have so many sparrows in there.

  19. kenschneider February 20, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

    Great documentation of your encounter with this very interesting bird.

    • Teresa February 20, 2014 at 5:51 pm #

      Thanks. It was fascinating to watch.

  20. Debby Parker a birder December 20, 2015 at 8:25 pm #

    Thank you so much for the photos. I loved that he was eating an English sparrow which are non native to the US and can take nesting habitat away from other birds. To me your shrike might be molting into adult plumage from juvenal plumage, I see some brownish barring on breast.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.