Archive | 4:14 pm

Emptying the Garage

7 May

I finally got the garage emptied out on Saturday.  It’s been a challenge to kid without the Morton building and then to get everyone shelter with all the rain we’ve had (not complaining about the rain).

Hera and her kids

Floyd, Dolly, Bee, and LilyAnn

Floyd, Dolly, and Bee–Dolly has adopted them, and they have been very good for each other.

I moved a couple more goats out on Thursday (I think).

Cupid and her boys, Sir Elton John and Prince came out on Thursday.

Then the rest came out on Saturday.  I opened the doors between the garage, soap room, milk room, and barnyard. Then I used a bit of sweet feed to get them to come.  Of course, I’d have had all the other girls rushing into the garage, so I shut them up north.

Wishing the gate weren’t shut

While they were eating that little bit of sweet feed, I went and brought their kids out to them.

My last four moms to come out of the garage: Venus, Tansy, Aphrodite, and Zinnia

Venus and her girl, Tootsie Roll

There’s not a lot of grass in that north paddock for that many goats, but I hope it will last them another week or two.

Eating on the north paddock

Rosie with her kids, Rupert and Reba

I am still giving them some hay to help the grass last longer.  And they are also getting some corn.

Enjoying hay

Tansy and Thunder both enjoying a snack in the barn.

The kids are enjoying the log up north.

Zeke and Zane (Ostara’s kids)

Thalia and Ty (Chiffon’s babies)

Soon they will be big enough to put with the rest of the herd and go out on the front part of the Back Forty.