Inspiration

16 Jan

No matter what, it seems like I draw strength and inspiration from my life on the farm.  Even when things seem to be at their darkest, I can rely on the animals to give me a smile.

Kizzy and Mary

Kizzy and Mary

They’ve been such constant teachers, I know I’m twice as smart as if I had not embarked on this rural journey.

Lucy

Lucy

Mother Nature usually has a quick reminder that every cloud or hardship comes with its own unique silver lining.

Afternoon sunshine on pasture

For that I’m grateful.  Where do you find inspiration?

Linking to Alphabe-ThursdayThursday Favorite Things and Photog Friday.

61 Responses to “Inspiration”

  1. Rocky Mountain Woman January 16, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

    I find inspiration in the same place you do, nature and more importantly animals!

    lovely thoughts…

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

      Thank you. I wouldn’t know what to do with myself if I were surrounded by concrete and no critters. 🙂

  2. Lavender Dreams January 16, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

    I am inspired by many of the blogs I visit…like yours. And here at home, the beauty of Florida and all of the birds. You would love to walk at the park that I go to…it gives you such a feeling of peace.

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      It sounds like a wonderful place to walk. I’m looking forward to the longer days when I can get out and walk again.

  3. TexWisGirl January 16, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    i pray to my angels. 🙂

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

      Truly inspirational! 🙂

  4. Mary January 16, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    It would be hard not to have a smile on your face with your animal menagerie around!

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

      I do love them. 🙂

  5. artmusedog January 16, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Wonderful photography and post ~ I love, love your animals and it must so inspirational doing what you do as well as very hard work ~
    My inspiration comes from nature ~ the ocean, sand, sky and trees and animals and most importantly my little Yorkie is a big factor in my life at this stage ~

    (A Creative Harbor)

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

      I love all the seascapes and boats you photograph and share. Nature is amazing with her diversity!

  6. Jori January 16, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    Your animal pictures are wonderful!!! I find peace through prayer, and driving in the country. I take my camera and snap away!

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

      I love photographing nature as a way of getting closer to it. It really makes you pay closer attention to your surroundings.

  7. Sue at Naperville Now January 16, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

    around me, much like you. goat facial expressions are quite soulful, don’t you think?

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

      Some of my goats are very wise old souls. 🙂

  8. Jen January 16, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

    Beautiful post and pics… I find it in my life on my lil farm too. Isnt it wonderful.

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

      I wouldn’t want any other lifestyle!

  9. Robyn January 16, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    I like your thoughts today, Teresa. I find inspiration from the blessings I have around me … family, friends, bloggers, livestock, nature and more.

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      The last few days have me feeling rather nostalgic and thinking a lot. I love your list of inspirations.

  10. kateri January 16, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    Lovely post, Teresa. Taking care of animals is rather new to me (I grew up on a little farm of sorts, but didn’t have much to do with the animals). I find it gives balance to my day. Plants can be ignored for a few days, but the goats force me to get outside near sunrise and sunset even if I don’t feel like it…and that has been very good for me these past several months.

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      They are very good for routine. 🙂 I can’t imagine living without the animals in my life.

  11. JDaniel4's Mom January 16, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    My guys inspire me along with scripture, time in nature, and chatting with wise friends.

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

      Those are all wonderful things!

  12. Sharon Qualls January 16, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    Breathing

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

      It’s amazing what we take for granted sometimes. I’m glad you’re breathing!

  13. Pat January 16, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    I find inspiration in nature and in all the beautiful people of the blogosphere.

    • Teresa January 16, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

      It never ceases to amaze me all the wonderful people I’ve met through blogging!

  14. Linda W. January 16, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    Great looking goats! Nice pictures.

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 6:39 am #

      Thanks. I do love their moonspots.

  15. Mimi Foxmorton January 17, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    Nine years ago I learned that the love of animals will always save you…………
    I shan’t ever forget that……….
    xoxox

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      They are a blessing. 🙂

  16. Pondside January 17, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    I can’t go out to feed the ducks without smiling, no matter what. Their vocal pleasure at seeing the door open, the way they mill around, quacking and quacking – it’s a comedy every morning.

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      I just love listening to the ducks!

  17. Gattina January 17, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    I also wrote about inspiration, because I had none, not even a little goat to inspire me ! lol !

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      They are wonderful for inspiration!

  18. Jim January 17, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    Hi Teresa ~~ Who wouldn’t get inspired by having all those cute and friendly critters around. My Adi (beagle dog who died in September) gave me lots of inspiration and loving even when others were all out of sorts and maybe p’ed off at me. I know your animals are all like pets for you.
    ..

    • Jim January 17, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      Avatar guys had wrong address for me. Haven’t written any poems for three weeks so that would be an old site.
      This one is the goodie for “I” word, but just in case,
      http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/
      ..

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      They are family. 🙂 Sorry to hear you lost your friend recently. It’s never easy to say good-bye.

  19. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman January 17, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Even as a city gal, I find my inspiration in nature and animals, they bring the peace of God near to my soul. 🙂 Your last picture is simply stunning.

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 11:10 am #

      Thank you. I am always amazed by the beauty surrounding me.

  20. Donna Heber January 17, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    Hi Teresa,

    Animals bring out the best in us. When I’m having a bad day my kitty cat gets “extra” hugs and kisses 🙂

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 11:58 am #

      They are wonderful for those bad days!

  21. Nancy January 17, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    I’m like you Teresa — I just need to look out my window and it cheers me up if I’m a little down. 🙂

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

      I think I could easily become a hermit. As long as I had my Internet. 🙂

  22. Marilyn January 17, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    In the barn baby, in the barn!

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

      I agree completely!

  23. Candy Conrad January 17, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    We do learn so very much living on a farm! I know spending time with the critters always makes me feel better when I’m having a bad day. 🙂

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

      The goats are especially good at putting a smile on the face. 🙂

  24. Bee January 17, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    I’m a total city girl, but I love animals so much! You’re so lucky to be able to live with so many. I find inspiration in wooded areas, which are my favorite. My husband and I try to get rent a cabin a few hours drive away as much as possible. Lots of wildlife to be seen.

    • Bee January 17, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

      P.S. – My husband is from northeastern Iowa. 🙂

      • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

        🙂

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

      I really am lucky to be in the country. I’d love to be able to buy the woodlot that borders my property. It’s totally wild!

  25. pamela January 17, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    Great post and pics! Animals and gardens are my inspiration and they are also very healing – especially when you hold an animal close to your heart (literally and figuratively!). 🙂

    • Teresa January 17, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      I completely agree. There’s nothing like goat snuzzles!

  26. Marigold January 17, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    Peanuts. 🙂

    • Teresa January 18, 2013 at 6:42 am #

      They are quite inspiring. 🙂

  27. shakira January 19, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Teresa, I love love LOVE your post and your photos. They are awesome!!! YOU ROCK the I out of Inspiration! I am so inspired by your post. Great job and keep up the great work with life on the farm. You are so blessed. hugs shakira

  28. Katherines Corner January 20, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Beautiful!! I find inspiration everywhere, even in unlikely places. Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things hop xo

    • Teresa January 20, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      Thank you for hosting. Sometimes winter is the perfect time to reflect on such things.

  29. Jenny Matlock January 23, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Wow. That last picture was incredible.

    I like that you find inspiration and hope all around you.

    I look for it in all the small places…then when I need it I have lots to draw on.

    Thanks for an interesting and inspiring link for the letter “I”.

    A+

    • Teresa January 23, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      Thank you. Most times it’s easy to find inspiration on the farm.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.