An Impulse Buy

28 Jun

I may have decided I was going to get my impulse buys under control. You know…no more house plants.  Well, I found something else that I just couldn’t resist when I stopped at the feed store yesterday.

Someone was not happy being my model.

I brought home four barred rock chicks.  They are all supposed to be hens.  But, seriously, they were 75% off because they were getting big.  They were getting to the size that you can feel comfortable that they are actually going to grow up.  So I could not resist them for 87¢ per chick.

four barred rock chicks

They will grow up to look like this.  She is my only barred rock right now.

one of my six-year-old hens

For now, I have them in the pen out in the chicken building so they can get used to each other.

I did add the second cage, so they have enough room for the week or two or three until I let them out.

So far, they seem to like their new accommodations, as long as I don’t ask them to smile for a picture.

6 Responses to “An Impulse Buy”

  1. scotiaspinner June 28, 2024 at 4:27 pm #

    Awww, so sweet! I’m glad you found some new feathered friends.

  2. janicead June 28, 2024 at 4:28 pm #

    Lol!

  3. Heather Longtreader June 29, 2024 at 1:05 pm #

    I love the title

  4. Jeanne June 30, 2024 at 6:30 pm #

    I like your impulse buy! They’ll beautiful! I hope they’ll all make it.

    • Teresa June 30, 2024 at 6:38 pm #

      They are doing well, and they are big enough I am not horribly worried about them surviving.

      • Jeanne June 30, 2024 at 11:52 pm #

        That’s good to know.

        My daughter has been clearing out a friend’s storage space and has really enjoyed a feathered friend. This lovely black hen is very friendly. My daughter has been giving her some grain each time she comes by. The hen’s feathers shine with irridescence in the sunlight. It’s a delight to see!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.