Archive | 4:02 pm

A Happy Ending

8 Jun

I love a happy ending.  After almost two months and a lot of work, Skittles is finally a part of the herd.

She made it out to pasture.

She was not too sure about going out.

She actually waited for Maybeline to go with her.

Then she took off exploring.

I am still keeping an eye out in case she starts to look overwhelmed and needs some time away from the goats to feel secure.

Coming back up to the barnyard

I did actually put her back in the Morton building/north paddock that first evening because we had some sprinkles and she was starting to look annoyed.  I gave her some Skittles time alone just to prevent anything bad. Finally, on Friday night, she spent the whole night out.  I didn’t even have to put her back in the Morton building to feel secure.

Maybeline and Skittles with the goats (Pluto, Cupid and kids, Tansy, and Zinnia)

Skittles (Popcorn and Pluto to the left; Pretzel and Pops in front)

I will continue to worry about rain when everyone wants to rush inside, but I will still keep closely monitoring the situation.