Heat Season

25 Aug

I noticed last week that Zora was being followed by the little boys.  Sigh… This is why I much prefer to have the majority of kids in March.  It’s easier to separate bucks and does and they are big enough to sell by this time of year.

Zora

Two days later, it was a free-for-all out in the barnyard.  All the girls were fighting due to hormones–old and young.

Victoria was fighting

I’m not ready for this.  Because look at how big those holes are in the fence in front of Benji, and I don’t have any real way to put an additional fence between him and the girls.

One-Shot Benji

I really don’t want my young girls or my old ladies getting bred.

Haley is retired.

And I’ll be very irritated in Pretzel gets bred by someone other than Frodo.

Pretzel

I also plan on giving Margarita and Astra the year off (at least).

Margarita

The girls are hanging out by the buck pen and the boys are ready to do their job!

Xerxes

Heat season is quite the challenge.

3 Responses to “Heat Season”

  1. janicead August 25, 2022 at 6:36 pm #

    Oh, what a huge pain.

  2. Eileen Wise August 26, 2022 at 5:04 am #

    Oh my, they should take a year off. Take care, have a happy weekend.

  3. Jeanne August 27, 2022 at 5:14 pm #

    Oh my goodness! You really don’t need those problems!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.