Archive | 4:07 pm

Keeping Up With the Zucchini

14 Jul

This time of year it’s hard to keep up with the zucchini.  I spent a couple of weeks every single little zucchini on the plants rotting from too much water.  Then I had three days of incredible harvests.  Then the hail and wind pretty much mangled the poor plants who were still awfully fragile from too much water.  I’m not sure they will recover.

I’m trying to use up that huge, sudden harvest.  One of the first things I did was make zucchini brownies with the little farm hand.

the great-nephew

He did a great job of baking.  He approved of the results.

Sky was happy to receive a zucchini as a treat.

Sky

The ones that get too big before I pick them get cut up.

Then I give them to the birds.

My new hens have still not done a good job of integrating with the rest of the flock, but I make sure they get a treat too.

I’m working on making a whole winter’s worth of zucchini patties.

They freeze well for a taste of the summer when it’s cold outside.  And if the plants recover, I’ll get to share the harvest with the rest of the family.