Archive | 5:22 pm

Finally Getting My Calendar Done

11 Nov

About four months ago, I had just finished my picture choices for the 2018 Eden Hills calendar when I had a slight technology snafu.  My hard drive cord quit working, so I could not access my last eight years of pictures.

Cover

I might have panicked a little bit, but I went to Best Buy and tried to find a new adapter.  Luckily, I took the external hard drive with me because they didn’t have one that fit.  I’m never in Ames, so I looked at what other options they had.  They did tell me that I had an actual full hard drive inside the unit, so the data should be able to be retrieved.

January geese

I got the cheaper of the two options they had.  It was a cable to go directly from my computer to the hard drive.  Well, when I got home and opened the package, the software you had to use with it would erase and format the new drive.  Um.  I’m trying to avoid erasing any drive, so that didn’t work.

February: Sidney, Dolly, Andy and LilyAnn

I decided to see if I could just find a new power adapter on line.  I found one that said it would work, but when it got here, I couldn’t get it to fit the external hard drive.

March: Penny and Ellie May

The next time I was in Ames was when I was dealing with Margarita and her bite wounds, but we stopped by Best Buy when she was coming home from the hospital, and I picked up the dock for a hard drive.

April:  Victoria’s buck, T-Bone

Then I couldn’t figure out how to get it out of the case to put it in the dock, so I took it to work and asked a colleague who is really good with computers.  He pointed out the teeny tiny screws holding the case together.  Wow!

May: Daisy being photobombed by a barn swallow

Finally, I remembered to borrow my mom’s teeny tiny screwdrivers, and I got the hard drive out without destroying anything!  It wouldn’t fit into the dock.  Seriously.

June: goats in pasture

I took it back to my computer geeky colleague, and he agreed it should fit.  But it didn’t.  Then he suggested that I needed a hard drive to hard drive cable and that would work.

July: Aurora

I went directly back to my classroom and searched Amazon.  I couldn’t find one.

August: four Sam babies

But I did find a hard drive to USB cable with a power cord, so I ran back and asked if that would work (don’t worry, this was all before I was on the clock).  He said yes, so I ordered it.

September: Llenny watching the goats

It arrived yesterday, and I am pleased to announce that it worked!  Yay!  Finally!

October: Bob cat

I went back to Best Buy today and I got another external hard dive–one that actually fits the dock I already bought, and I am now happily backing up my files.

November: Stormy, Cutie, Betty Lou (I think) and Joani

Talk about a huge sigh of relief.

December: gander

And now I can finish editing the photos, finish creating my calendar, and order it. Finally.

