Friday’s Hunt 4.18

3 Nov

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt. I want to thank everyone who joined in last week. I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up. It’s very simple. Anyone can participate. The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

We are working on round four! It’s hard to believe. I did make a slight change. It will still go through the alphabet for the first prompt, but there are two other prompts that will change each week. As always, you can choose to do one or all. If you enjoy the week’s favorite, by all means continue to add that. If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week the topics will be: Starts with S, metal, and mineral. I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. I am crazy busy with work off the farm and everything on the farm right now, but I will try to make sure to visit all participants. I have to say, the change to my teaching assignment this year is really killing me. Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with R:  One of the little rump roasts!  I think this heifer might actually get to stay in the herd to become a breeding cow.  She’s a pretty calm girl.  That’s always nice.

Glow:  Does Maybeline have a lovely maternal glow to her?  Maybe it’s the back lighting.  Maybe it’s the joy of torturing me by refusing to have her cria.

Vegetable:  It’s a good thing I picked the last of the veggies out of my garden because we got a hard freeze the next night.  I even got around to trying to find a way to fix beets that I like them.  I have previously tried pickled beets, Harvard beets, and borscht.  Nope.  Don’t like any of them. This time I tried rosemary and honey roasted beets.  I like it!  I did use leaf rosemary because that’s all I had, but next time I’ll use crushed rosemary.  I am still experimenting.  I might find more ways that I like them.

Now it’s your turn!

8 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt 4.18”

  1. Ralph November 3, 2017 at 7:21 pm #

    Maybeline is such a beauty – and the maternal glow is undeniable! That cow is lovely too as she poses so nicely. I’ve never been a fan of beets – but canned beets as a kid was likely the reason. Perhaps roasted so the sugars come out of it. Have a great week and I hope the babies arrive soon!

  2. Jeanne November 3, 2017 at 11:05 pm #

    I’m sorry, but I love beets! I think pickled is my favorite. What you pictured looks beautiful and delicious, Teresa. is that some of your homemade Feta?

    • Teresa November 3, 2017 at 11:06 pm #

      It is my feta.

  3. Margaret Birding For Pleasure November 4, 2017 at 2:57 am #

    Beets are on my mind a lot at the mkment as my Doc says my BP is slightly up and of course she would like me to go on Medication however I am very resistant to do that so have started researching what I can do to lower it naturally and Beetroot juice has been proven to do just that. You can buy it or of course you can juice it. I bought some yesterday and it is really plesant as a drink. I am purchasing a BP machine, my own is very old and am not sure if it is accurate, will keep a good eye in it and hopefully will see a great improvement.. What no craics yet?

  4. Jackie November 4, 2017 at 7:54 am #

    Australian cooks use a lot of beets.

  5. scotiaspinner November 4, 2017 at 3:34 pm #

    I am a big fan of roasted beets, and pairing them with feta is a great way to eat them. I’ve also used roasted ones on top of a sort of ‘pizza’ creation with other veggies. Maybeline looks beautiful – what a great shot. I do hope she has a cria soon. So hard to tell with llamas! I wish their udders would swell to at least give a hint!

    • Teresa November 4, 2017 at 4:28 pm #

      The girls are killing me with not having their babies. Last fall was so hectic, and they hardly came up from pasture, so I couldn’t pull Llenny. By the time he was so sick that I could catch him, it was the end of January. I’m pretty sure he couldn’t have bred them by that point, but I don’t know when they are due.

  6. pattisj November 20, 2017 at 10:39 pm #

    I love just plain beets with a bit of butter on them. They’re also good in smoothies!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.