Coyote Attack

11 Oct

Yesterday afternoon when I went out to do chores, I thought Margarita looked a bit dumpy, so I decided I’d better worm her.  I got a new wormer, but I haven’t had time to get all the kids wormed (that’s another whole story).  Anyhow, I caught her and when I gave her the wormer, she yelled.  It sounded like she had laryngitis.  When I took my hand away from under her mouth, it had blood on it.  Then I noticed she was shaking.  I kinda freaked and called my vets.  Have I mentioned that I love my vets.  They were scheduled full, but Dr. Schmitz said he’d stop on his way home.  I was a wreck by the time he got here.

Midnight Margarita

I thought of an injury, or pneumonia, or goat tuberculosis (is that even a thing?).  Anyhow, he did a quick check and then said it looked like a bite.  It was a coyote because it had grabbed her by the throat for the kill.  Luckily, most of her wounds are superficial, but she has so much swelling that it’s hard for her to breathe.  She’s getting antibiotics for the bite wounds and the lungs and a pain killer/anti-inflammatory to help her breathe.  She’s not out of the woods, but she is holding her own.

Maggie

I thought really hard about how she could have ever escaped a coyote.  As bad as her swelling is, it had a good grip on her.  I have only one possible answer.  The llamas were on the front pasture, and for some reason, the goats had gone out to the Back Forty that morning, so it wasn’t the llamas.  The cows wouldn’t do anything to protect a goat.  Margarita does, however, have one bad ass mom.  All summer, I watched Sky taunt Maggie through the fence.  She would snort and stomp and hit at him through the fence.  I have no doubt that she hit the coyote, surprising it enough to drop Margarita so they could get away.  Maggie gets my mom-of-the-year award.

Too busy and crazy for any pictures, but I’ll try to show you how she’s doing tomorrow.

10 Responses to “Coyote Attack”

  1. Barbara F. October 11, 2017 at 7:53 pm #

    nothing like a mother…..hope she is much improved ……

    • Teresa October 11, 2017 at 8:21 pm #

      This will be a slow healing process. I’m hoping to keep her going until the swelling goes down enough that she can eat and drink again.

  2. Jeanne October 11, 2017 at 8:01 pm #

    Oh poor baby!! I pray she can survive! She must be hurting! It had to have been her mom who saved her. Go Maggie!!

    • Teresa October 11, 2017 at 8:18 pm #

      She is pretty miserable. If we can get through a couple more days, she should be a lot better.

  3. momof3boys37 October 11, 2017 at 10:15 pm #

    Aww I’m so glad she was saved kudos to momma hope she heals well.

    • glassicartistry October 11, 2017 at 10:27 pm #

      The cries of the coyotes are often heard every night at our house. We heard them in the waterway behind our house the other night, gonna have to keep a close eye on our dogs, so they don’t wander.

  4. A Quiet Corner October 12, 2017 at 6:08 am #

    Poor little thing…traumatized, although having Mom close by saved her!!…:)JP

  5. Eileen Wise October 12, 2017 at 6:27 am #

    Oh my, I am sorry she was hurt but I am so glad she escaped and is OK. Sweet photos. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day and weekend!

  6. Daniel J Perin October 12, 2017 at 10:21 am #

    Thoroughly enjoy your posts. Sorry to hear about the coyote.

  7. Donna October 12, 2017 at 11:11 pm #

    I am so sorry about this coyote attack. One of my greatest fears. I hope she pulls through.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

