Dirt Work

19 Aug

After two years, we’re finally getting the dirt work done to make sure my garage doesn’t someday fall down the steep slope we left when it was built.

We had to get the llamas and bucks out of the area, so we extended the fence south of the garage all the way across the front pasture.

I put a big water tub out there along with a salt/mineral block.  The bucks can fit in the Quonset hut, but the poor llamas had no shelter.

Maybeline

With all the shade trees it’s not a big deal in a drought.

Last Friday (the 4th), Davis Tiling (and Dirt Work) came and starting moving the five loads of dirt that has been sitting there for almost two years.

He started on the south side of the building.

Then he started hauling dirt around to the back of the building.

He moved twelve loads of dirt and decided he needed to bring in more.

The plan was to come back on Monday and finish.  As I already have mentioned, though, we got rain.

6 Responses to “Dirt Work”

  1. Jim August 19, 2017 at 6:18 pm #

    Thought I’d ask to make sure in this heat, but you do have a water tank on a trailer pull up to that “BIG” water tub? Lots of work I can see around the farm lately. The corn is really looking good, all tasseled nicely.

    • Teresa August 19, 2017 at 6:27 pm #

      I have enough hose to reach that far. 😉

  2. Jim August 19, 2017 at 6:19 pm #

    Thought I’d ask to make sure in this heat, but you do have a water tank on a trailer pull up to that “BIG” water tub? Lots of work I can see around the farm lately. The corn is really looking good, all tasseled nicely.
    ..

    • Teresa August 19, 2017 at 6:29 pm #

      I was confused because I don’t have any corn, but the neighbor does. I haven’t checked its quality. I know a lot of the corn has not filled out because of the drought conditions. I’m happy to put off the rest of the dirt work for rain right now.

  3. Margret Birding For Pleasure August 20, 2017 at 2:29 am #

    well that is another work nearly completed theresa

  4. Jeanne August 20, 2017 at 6:41 pm #

    Thatsa lotta work! And a lotta dirt to move. Twelve loads doesn’t look very big. Good thing you have help!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

