The Drought Continues

13 Aug

We are in worsening drought conditions.  I think we’ve had sprinkles once or twice, but every time the radar shows rain moving in, it fizzles out and we are stuck with dust.

My pasture is hanging in there.  It’s crunchy and dry, but it will still feed the animals. It’s just about like eating hay.

Goats and cattle on the Back Forty and llamas on the front pasture

My soybean plants look amazing.

There’s tons of little pods on there, but not a single bean in a pod.  I’m not even sure a good rain this week would have time for them to fully develop before the plants die down.  I guess that’s why I have crop insurance; although, I’d prefer selling my crop.

Despite brown grass that hasn’t grown since the last time we made hay, the alfalfa is growing. It has a deep root system.

We do have a bit of a chance for rain this week.  Hopefully, I’ll find out whether or not it will save the soybeans. I know it would help my pasture.

6 Responses to “The Drought Continues”

  1. Jim August 13, 2017 at 6:42 pm #

    So sorry about the dry, I hadn’t realized. Is the corn earing?
    ..

    • Teresa August 13, 2017 at 6:56 pm #

      It’s not ding well either.

  2. Kermit August 13, 2017 at 8:30 pm #

    It’s apparently time to do the rain dances! Where are you located? It’s been raining pretty good here!

  3. Margret Birding For Pleasure August 14, 2017 at 12:20 am #

    Hope you rain comes soon for you to green everything up

  4. Jeanne August 14, 2017 at 12:56 am #

    It’s frustrating isn’t it, that some parts of the country are so dry – like where you are in Iowa, and where we are in Oregon – and other parts are flooding! I just wish we could share that moisture!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

