Archive | 9:09 pm

Learning to Adjust

7 Aug

It has been quite a change to have the cows here.  There are fourteen big ones and thirteen little ones.  That’s more cows than I’ve ever had on the farm.  The cows and goats pretty much ignore each other in pasture, so I don’t have to worry.

The cows are getting more and more comfortable with their surroundings and coming up to the barnyard for their water.

They’ll even hang out under the tree for a while.  I’m getting more comfortable with the bull (although I will never trust a bull).

It does make the goats a bit nervous to have to walk between them to come up the lane.

They can make a run past the cow to come in the side door, or they can come through the big barn door.

Unless there’s someone that decided to explore in the barn.  It tends to freak everyone out.

The calf left, and everyone got to come in for their nice long afternoon nap.

But then we had a couple of naughty little rump roasts.  They were exploring.

Then it was fun to make the goats run.

They’ve never seen birds like these before.

Finally, I got them to go through to the other side again.

I need to lower my panel a bit.  It won’t stop them all, but it will keep a few out.

They’re almost too big to come through by the cattle tank too.

Poor calves just want to play, but the goats are not amused.  I went out last night when Cutie was on the picnic table and a calf wanted to sniff her.  She immediately flew off the table and ran right behind me for protection.  Silly girl.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.