Already Easier

6 Aug

I’ve been doing my blog posts a day ahead of time.  For some reason that’s just how it works out.  I did my post for Saturday on Friday evening.  That morning routine is really how my Saturday morning went.  After lunch, I went to check Purple 11 again.  It wasn’t too hard finding the herd.

After counting several times, I still came up one cow short.

I went looking for Purple 11.  Anyhow, I assumed she was off by herself having a calf.  I had to walk by the cows, and I think they were watching me as closely as I was watching them.

Eventually, I spotted her.

She has a calf that is up and nursing.

I’m not going to get any closer than this, and she actually started leading her baby away from me.  At least I don’t have to check her first thing every morning now.  Honestly, I think it was a couple of days old and she’s just been hiding it from me.  Snooty bovine.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

7 Responses to “Already Easier”

  1. Cloudia August 6, 2017 at 6:20 pm #

    Thank you for bringing us along

  2. Erika August 6, 2017 at 6:28 pm #

    What’s the baby moo’s name? or I guess you will wait until you see if male or female.

    • Teresa August 6, 2017 at 7:47 pm #

      This calf has a numbered tag–no name. All these calves will be finished to go into the food chain. It is a bull, but he’s already been banded.

  3. brokenteepee August 6, 2017 at 6:56 pm #

    At least you don’t have to worry any more. It looks like a cutie but I would not want to mess with that much concerned mama.

    • Teresa August 6, 2017 at 7:48 pm #

      Nephew came out to band, tag, weigh and vaccinate him this morning. His wife and I got to keep three of the cows back. They are all very protective of the herd.

  4. Jeanne August 6, 2017 at 9:16 pm #

    Well as you say – that’s one less thing to do! Is the calf black? He looks dark.

    • Teresa August 6, 2017 at 9:36 pm #

      Yep. He is black. Daddy is a black angus.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

