Obsession

3 Aug

I think most people that have goats would tell you that they never knew when they got their first goat that they’d become obsessed with poop.  I tell you, though, there’s nothing like seeing perfect goat berries falling from your goat’s back side like a Pez dispenser.

with apologies to Joani for such an unflattering picture

It’s a good sign of a healthy goat.

front to back: LilyAnn, Sidney, and Dolly

This time of year is when the pasture is getting eaten down and the goats might start picking up worms.

Colt and Astra

You hate to see runny poops.  I kid you not, I followed Caroline around with a glove on to try and get a sample a couple of days ago, but she was not about to give it up.  She did enjoy pushing against my leg and bouncing.  I checked her eye membranes, and they are bright red, so I’m not too worried.  I might have to just keep a glove in my pocket for the opportune moment.

Caroline

I had to pull Clover away from her kids and shut her in after worming her because she had bottle jaw (even worse than diarrhea).

Clover

She’s been wormed, and I’m giving her sweet feed twice a day and all the good alfalfa hay she can eat.

Clover and jealous cows

I’m optimistic that she’ll fully recover.  In the meantime, I will continue to be obsessed with everyone’s poops (and their jaws and eye color).

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my side bar.

4 Responses to “Obsession”

  1. brokenteepee August 3, 2017 at 5:07 pm #

    I hope Clover gets well quickly. You are so good to your babies

  2. Jeanne August 3, 2017 at 11:15 pm #

    Well phooie! Can you explain bottle jaw for me??

    • Jeanne August 3, 2017 at 11:37 pm #

      Oh! Okay! I finally saw your highlight on the “bottle jaw” and clicked on it. Read that whole blog, including the comments. It was very informative! Thanks!!

  3. Margret Birding For Pleasure August 4, 2017 at 11:04 pm #

    Love the shot of Colt and Astra. Interesting that you can tell if the goats have anaemia by looking at the lid of their eyes the same as humans.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

