Barnyard Discovery

2 Aug

While I was milking Cinnamon this morning, I heard a loud moo.  The cows discovered the barnyard.  I’ve never had this many cattle in my barnyard at one time before.  It’s a good thing for them.

They were looking for the water tank. They don’t drink really often, but when they do, they’ll drink five gallons at a time, which is why I need the continuous filling water tank with cows.

Some were a bit more creative about drinking than the rest.

The little bit of water they had in the Back Forty is rapidly disappearing (and getting really gross from them walking and pooping in it).  This is about all that’s left out there.

They also needed the salt/mineral block.  I took one to them in pasture, but I think they must have rolled it into the water and let it melt.  Really?

They were noisy.

They were curious.

A bit too curious for me (that’s the bull watching me), so I did put panels across the openings.  I really don’t want them in the barn, especially where I have to hand scoop it out.

I finally found Purple 11.  I really have been a bit nervous about the bull and didn’t want to go walking through the middle of them, so I have been checking from a distance by counting (thirteen cows, twelve calves and one bull) to make sure they are all there and just standing around.  But I finally got to see her up close!  She’s still waiting to have her calf.

They explored and drank and licked the salt block and left lots of pies and then they wandered back out to pasture about an hour later.

Now that they know about the cattle tank, I assume they’ll be visiting up here about twice each day.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

4 Responses to “Barnyard Discovery”

  1. Cloudia August 2, 2017 at 4:43 pm #

    So great to see the care you give them!

    • Teresa August 2, 2017 at 4:58 pm #

      Pretty much all farmers give their animals great care!

  2. Jeanne August 2, 2017 at 7:04 pm #

    I enjoyed your story today. And I don’t blame you for being a little afraid of the bull. He’s beautiful, but…. I hope you can get pictures of the new calf when he/she is born.

  3. Margret Birding For Pleasure August 4, 2017 at 10:57 pm #

    They are a just up checking you out but what a lovely story Teresa.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

