Zucchini

18 Jul

My zucchini plants are really producing well. I have zucchini overload. That is despite my dog (the maniac) who keeps eating them while they are still waiting to be picked.  Well, he ate half of this one.  He just sampled several others.

Then there’s Rocky (the monster).  He knocked the one Sky started eating on the floor and was going to finish it.  I swear, those two will drive me to the loony bin.

At least the chickens appreciate whatever Sky leaves of the zucchinis he starts (after I wrestle it away from the cat).

Anyhow, despite the monster and the maniac, I still have more zucchini than I know what to do with.  I’ve sold some at the farmer’s market (I was the first to have them and sold all I took. Last week someone else brought some and sold them for cheaper–zucchini price wars!).  I can only eat zucchini patties for lunch so many days in a row.  That means it’s time for a new zucchini recipe!

I wanted to do cinnamon zucchini rolls.  The only one I found on the Internet was  just a cinnamon roll recipe that someone shredded a cup of zucchini and rolled up with the cinnamon and sugar filling.  That just seems weird.  There’s no recipe like I wanted, so I set about making my own.

I started with peeling and boiling a zucchini.

Then I drained the pan and mashed the zucchini like a potato.

I added it to my milk and butter when I heated them.  The rest is just like any other cinnamon roll recipe.  The results were delicious!

I shared with several members of my family to make sure the recipe was blog worthy (all affirmative responses) and to keep me from eating them all.

Cinnamon Zucchini Rolls

In a medium sauce pan heat the following to about 120*F

  • 3/4 cup of milk (I used whole goat milk)
  • 1 cup mashed zucchini (see above)
  • 1/3 cup margarine (cut in pads)

In a large mixing bowl measure

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 Tbsp of rapid rise yeast (you could do one packet)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt

Add the warm liquid to the flour mixture and stir.  Add

  • 2 eggs

Mix in another 2 1/2 – 3 cups of flour.  When it gets too stiff to stir, dump it onto the counter and continue kneading and adding the flour until it is a soft but not sticky dough.

Let the dough rest for ten minutes.  Then divide it in half.  Roll each half out in a rectangle that is about 9 inches by 12 inches. Spread with margarine and a mixture of 1 cup brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. cinnamon (that is for both rolls).  Roll the dough on the 9 inch side.  Slice it into 9 1-inch pieces and place them in two sprayed round cake pans.

Put them in a warm place and let them rise 30 – 40 minutes or until they’ve nearly doubled in size.

Bake at 350* for 35 minutes or so.  I had to cover mine with foil that last ten minutes so they didn’t get too brown.  Makes 18 rolls.

Frost with a cream cheese (or other) frosting.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s list at the top of my side bar.

8 Responses to “Zucchini”

  1. Daniel Perin July 18, 2017 at 5:52 pm #

    I am definitely trying this recipe as soon as I have my zucchinis!

    • Teresa July 18, 2017 at 6:41 pm #

      For some reason I thought you might. 😉

  2. Margaret July 19, 2017 at 12:34 am #

    The dog and cat are just pruning. ZucchiniS for you! Now those rolls look yummy. You are very resourceful

  3. LisaDay July 19, 2017 at 6:08 am #

    What a great idea. I hear zucchini and lemon is a really great combination as well. I also have a chocolate zucchini loaf, which is always delicious. You can freeze it, too. Grate it and freeze if for said loaf.

  4. jesh stg July 19, 2017 at 1:38 pm #

    Interesting problem, haha – wished I lived close, I would help you get rid of some – thank you for the recipe!

  5. Jeanne July 19, 2017 at 8:53 pm #

    Hm! How about chocolate-zucchini cinnamon rolls?!!

    • Teresa July 19, 2017 at 8:55 pm #

      I already do zucchini brownies. They are good too.

  6. pattisj July 23, 2017 at 10:46 pm #

    We love zucchini, too, and it makes wonderful breads and cookies. I’d never thought to make cinnamon rolls with it! When we had a garden, cucumbers were the most prolific; we had a dog then, too, who also liked cucumbers. And tomatoes.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

