Archive | 6:12 pm

A Short Walk in the Buffer Strip

17 Jul

I was going to go for a walk in the pasture, but the sight of a kid in the buffer strip snacking on alfalfa changed that plan.  I hopped the fence, hung my camera on a post and walked back and forth several times before quickly grabbing a back leg and landing on my knees.  But I caught the little stinker.  In case you can’t tell, my little boys that look just like their daddy, Sam, are wild.  I am not even sure which one this was.

Colt (I think)

But I tossed him over the fence to go play with the rest of the kids.

While I was in the buffer strip, I thought I’d walk around (and take the easy way back instead of climbing the fence again).  Obviously, the alfalfa is blooming.  It’s once again past ready to cut and bale.

The bees are happy though.

So are the butterflies.

I know, the monarch is on clover (along with the honeybee), but they were flitting from clover to alfalfa to clover again.  It was positively buzzing out there.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my side bar.

