Puppy Rule Infractions

16 Jul

I can’t keep up.  I swear Sky is a maniac!  To simplify, I’ve taken to just two rules:  Don’t kill anything; don’t destroy anything.

Sky (silly boy)

Lately he has:

  • eaten the remote control for the tv converter box
  • eaten his brand new big boy collar,

brand new collar in two pieces

  • stolen a zucchini from the counter and ate it
  • stolen an Anaheim chili pepper from the counter and tried to eat it
  • stomped on a cabbage in the garden killing it and later dragging it all over the yard to play with his kill,

chasing the frisbee (good boy)

  • caught and tossed toads in the air to play catch with himself
  • killed birds from my bird feeders (which are now empty until I get around to moving them)
  • rolled all over a dead bird in ripe mulberries,

mulberry stains and the plant leaf that he ripped off a plant

  • ate my hosta blooms

One of the lucky survivors–so far.

  • digs a hole whenever I use the garden hose

chilling under the deck

I’m pretty sure I’m leaving some things out.  He really needs to grow up soon.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

13 Responses to “Puppy Rule Infractions”

  1. Deborah M. Vaughan July 16, 2017 at 5:26 pm #

    From a fellow dog owner (3 actually and 6 fosters). Been there. Done that. Don’t get discouraged Sky is just being a puppy. As hard as it is take it on good authority (not me but I agree) when dogs turn 3 years old they become the best dogs they are suppose to be. Until then it is a struggle of alpha to alpha. I once went through 4 tv remotes before the cable company knew me on a first name basis. I tried to remember to put it up but being human I forgot and when I forgot the puppy remembered. Hang in there because Sky will become your best friend at about age 3 but until then every fiber of your patience will be tested.

    • Teresa July 16, 2017 at 5:29 pm #

      I know I can’t rush his growing up, but I do wish I could make him three years old now and hold that age for the next twenty years. In the meantime, I helps to laugh and share his antics.

  2. David Spitko July 16, 2017 at 6:15 pm #

    This all sounds like “Marley & Me”. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marley_%26_Me You too could write a book someday!

  3. vem030956 July 16, 2017 at 6:52 pm #

    I can’t stop laughing….I remember when my dog was a puppy….like kids he will grow up…but I do feel for you!!!

  4. Anonymous July 16, 2017 at 7:21 pm #

    Haha German Shepherd dogs take a long time to grow up.

  5. 2gatherstones July 16, 2017 at 7:38 pm #

    Wow!! He has had a busy, busy day! Puppy energy. Just keep reminding yourself he will settle. My German Shepherd is my absolute best friend. He was a monster pup, but is now an awesome farm dog. He even has a harness and pulls a cart. He helps me through my roughest times and know just exactly when to give me a smooch.

    • Teresa July 16, 2017 at 9:11 pm #

      This gives me hope! Glad you have your best buddy with you.

  6. peacelovepointers July 16, 2017 at 7:38 pm #

    My Border Collie puppy Brèagha is about 12 weeks old now and just starting to get a little wild, but I am sure she’ll be just like Sky soon. I’m trying to build up my patience now because I know I’ll need it!

    • Teresa July 16, 2017 at 9:11 pm #

      They do test your tolerance. Good luck!

  7. pattisj July 16, 2017 at 11:13 pm #

    Maybe he got confused with all those rules. He was digging a hole to fill with water for a bath to wash off the mulberry stains…? You have your hands full! He’ll be grown and settled before you know it. Sad for the birdies.

  8. Jeanne July 17, 2017 at 12:46 am #

    🙂 Yes, they do all grow up – eventually! I’ve never had a German Shepherd, so I have no idea what they are really like. I only know that our miniature Schnauzers, and we’ve had five, were not that difficult!

  9. Margaret July 17, 2017 at 1:33 am #

    Deary me. He has been a naughty bot but then he is only a puppy. I think he is confused with all the rules and he gets them mixed up but probably he is just playing. Patience is a virtue they say but 3 years!!!

  10. Anonymous July 17, 2017 at 8:19 am #

    Haha! He’s so cute though! He sure does sound like one of my dogs

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

