Hide and Go Seek Hen

11 Jul

I couldn’t find my little phoenix hen.  I was really worried because of all the issues I’ve had with predators.  I found her though!

This explains why I haven’t found many eggs lately.  I thought it was because I started shutting them in at night.

Holy moly!  There’s sixteen eggs under there.  Only four of them are hers.

Great.  I wonder how many are roosters.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my side bar.

7 Responses to “Hide and Go Seek Hen”

  1. scotiaspinner July 11, 2017 at 6:29 pm #

    She’s a very pretty hen, and what a wonderful clutch of eggs! I hope there are lots of hens!

    • Teresa July 11, 2017 at 6:49 pm #

      I am rooting for all hens. I still have all three nasty phoenix roosters. I really need to rehome them. Ironically, she is the phoenix hen.

  2. bagheeracr July 11, 2017 at 6:56 pm #

    You could candle them and let her keep the fertile ones, or try to break up the broody moody. Would she be happy with fakes? And maybe a space of her own so she cannot steal from others?
    I had a hen that used to ‘steal’ rocks and try to brood them. Poor thing never figured it out.

    • Teresa July 11, 2017 at 7:49 pm #

      She’s fine. I knly care about roosters, and candling can’t tell me that.

      • bagheeracr July 11, 2017 at 7:52 pm #

        Those Phoenix roosters are the worst! Or at least that’s my opinion, since they can actually fly at your face.
        Good luck, hoping for many pullets.

  3. Anonymous July 11, 2017 at 10:12 pm #

    Nice group of eggs under that hen!

  4. Jeanne July 12, 2017 at 1:23 am #

    Well! That’s really something! She’s really a pretty hen.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

