Archive | 4:25 pm

Integrating the Llamas: Part II

5 Jul

After the llamas were released, they met Odie and Maybeline and the goats, and they found the Back Forty, so I thought we were good to go.  The next morning, however, Odie, Maybeline, and the goats went to the Back Forty to eat, and the new llamas were just hanging out in the barnyard.  A couple looked wistfully over the gate to where Minnie and Helen were.  Finally, I got the message.  “When is breakfast served?”

Seriously?  I gave them access to forty acres of green stuff, and they think I’m going to serve them hay made off the pasture?  It’s much better for them when it’s green.  I did compromise.  I gave them a couple pads of hay, but I put it in small clumps down the lane to the Back Forty.

They really wanted that hay.

Finally, Farina and Estarr figured out that it was maybe a good idea to go out to pasture.

When Odie and Maybeline came back up, I did suggest they might take the new llamas under their wing and teach them how things are done here.

Odie and Maybeline

I think they are just kind of nervous about all the space.  It’s new to them.

They keep watching everything, and I’m sure they’ll get it figured out.

The goats came back up from pasture along the top of the hill.

The llamas seemed to have been following along the bottom.

The next morning, I was happy to see that all of the llamas were out on top of the hill together!

I think we’ve got it figured out now.  I hope.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items (with the new format) listed at the top of my side bar.

