Integrating the Llamas: Part I

3 Jul

Friday morning we were supposed to be done with our rainy stretch for a couple of days (although we didn’t get much rain and we’re still too dry), so I decided it was time to let the new llady llamas and Buster in with Odie, Maybeline and the whole herd of goats.  I waited until everyone was out in pasture, so the barnyard was pretty much empty.  I started by taking Minnie Pearl back up and putting her in with the llamas.

Minnie Pearl

I wanted to make sure they would be okay with the goats.  Poor Minnie.  She was my sacrificial guinea pig, but she didn’t care.  She was just happy to be back on her little pasture and the llamas just wanted to sniff her over.  I brought Helen up, and then I let the llamas out.

Estarr and Buster

They explored the barnyard pretty thoroughly.

Farina checking out Maggie and Tequilla

It only took a few minutes before Farina and Estarr went through the barn to the other side of the barnyard.

Farina

That left poor Buster and Aurora stranded.  Buster is small enough, he squeezed through by the cattle tank, but Aurora was alone.  When she went into the Love Shack pen, I decided I’d help her out.  I got the halter and was going to put it on and lead her around.  Well, we discovered she has no problem jumping over a cattle panel.  I better keep this girl happy.

Aurora

She finally figured it out.

They all found the dust bowl and had baths.

Estarr and Farina (Aurora standing behind)

Farina and Buster (and Estarr behind)  Aurora standing

It wasn’t long before Maybeline and Odie came up from pasture.  I was actually rather impressed.  It was a pretty easy acquaintance.  Lots of ears back, but only minimal spitting.

Maybeline, Farina, and Odie

Aurora and Odie

Then they ended up out in pasture.  It was just a quick walk around a small part of the pasture, but it was a start.

Buster, Aurora, Estarr, and Farina

Farina

Aurora

Then they came back up. It wasn’t long before the goats came back up from pasture and that kind of freaked poor Buster out a bit.  He sounded the alarm, and then he tried to turn and run from them, but there was a big fallen tree in his way.  He tried jumping it and ended up hanging over it.  He finally got himself free.  Poor boy.

Estarr in the dust bowl, Aurora, Buster and “the tree”

I will say, Farina is absolutely certain that my three bucks are evil.  Every time she sees them, she still sounds the alarm.  Buster has pretty much gotten over it. You can check out the video below.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fedenhills.myson%2Fvideos%2F1451840631529455%2F&show_text=0&width=560

Hopefully, she’ll eventually realize they are pretty sweet guys.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

10 Responses to “Integrating the Llamas: Part I”

  1. pattisj July 3, 2017 at 11:09 pm #

    I never thought of llamas being jumpers. They do seem to like the dust bowl. Glad they’re all getting along well.

  2. Margret Adamson July 4, 2017 at 1:06 am #

    I think that went better than expected and they certainly were enjoyoing the san bath

  3. Eileen July 4, 2017 at 7:06 am #

    Hello, love all the llamas and goats. I hope they get along well. Wishing you and yours a safe and happy 4th of July! Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day and the week ahead.

  4. Robyn July 4, 2017 at 11:53 am #

    Happy 4th! Your farm is beautiful. I have a question – Why are the new llamas only shaved in the middle?
    Photos and video gorgeous as usual!

    • Teresa July 4, 2017 at 12:04 pm #

      That’s a popular cut for show llamas. Keeps them cool and shows off their fleece.

  5. Robyn July 4, 2017 at 1:51 pm #

    Theresa, how can we access the blogs along the right hand side of your page!.

    • Teresa July 4, 2017 at 3:23 pm #

      You should be able to click on the title and it will take you there. I will admit, I have not updated it in ages, so I’m not sure how many of the links are still good. I know my Millie’s blog is now private since she died.

  6. Jeanne July 5, 2017 at 2:04 pm #

    That was interesting! I loved the video, too. It’s good that they all seem to be okay with each other, for the most part.

  7. scotiaspinner July 6, 2017 at 5:23 pm #

    Wow, a cattle panel jumper! That’s interesting – none of mine ever tried that, so I’m glad you already know that she is capable. At least you can keep an eye on her. She might go visiting beyond the back 40!

    • Teresa July 6, 2017 at 10:02 pm #

      She is a big girl. I think she’ll be fine once she’s settled in.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

