Why Do I Have Fences?

25 Jun

I really wonder sometimes what good fences do with goats.  I’ve already mentioned Maggie getting into my buffer strip along the bean field and T-bone getting stuck in the Coyote Woods.  Well, Haley has also been in my bean field a couple of times.  The other day when I was looking for Cookie’s boys, on one of my trips across the top hill, I looked out to pasture.  This is what I should see.  Instead, there were a lot of white splotches in the neighbor’s corn field.

Of course, reminding them that I provide them with nearly forty acres of pasture and asking them to get their tails back on the right side of the fence did not do any good.  I had to climb over, jump and yell and act like a maniac before they finally thought about getting back where they belong.

“Nothing to see here, Human. Just keep walking. Besides, I’m just the lookout because I’m too big to fit under.” -Myson

Then, because they found one place they could get through, they decided to keep looking.  They found another space just a little farther down the fence.  Seriously.  I thought I fixed these things earlier in the spring.

I carried stuff back and forth hobbling fence and looking for kids.  I  had one section left to go, and the goats went back out to pasture before I got it finished.  I hurried to that spot and told them to just keep on walking.

To help me keep them out while I stood guard.

Nothing to see on that side.  They didn’t believe me.

Cutie and Ava

It didn’t work.  I had to grab Ava by a back leg and pull her back out.  Then Dolly tried sneaking under.

“It was so good earlier.  I hope I get to go back over there.”  -Ava

Penny was not happy with me blocking the way.

“Pardon me, but you are in my way, Human.”

Lily took a more practical position and decided she could just stand there all day until I left.  I literally had to keep pushing her to join the rest of the herd.

“I’ll just stand here and scratch my butt until you get tired and move away.”

After they got down the hill, I went back to the barnyard and found another chunk of panel to hobble that place.  Luckily, the damage was minimal. We can pretend it’s hail damage right?

It’s kept them out so far.  That’s good because I’m running out of small chunks of panel to hobble fence.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my side bar.

13 Responses to “Why Do I Have Fences?”

  1. vem030956 June 25, 2017 at 3:32 pm #

    LOL…well at least you never have a dull moment! And I love your dialog….could write a book about your goats and Sky and what they get into all the time….I would buy it!!!!!

    • Margret Adamson June 25, 2017 at 3:51 pm #

      those goats seem to be 1step ahead of you Teresa and they seem to enjoy that but for you it is hard work

  2. Sherry Simmons June 25, 2017 at 8:35 pm #

    Theresa,
    I asked myself that same question, just today when my two handsome 3 month old boys escaped for the second time in a week. Mistake #1- we used older fencing, mistake- #2 I didn’t think they could get through a hole that small! Mistake #3 underestimating those cute loveable little faces.
    I shall be repairing more fence in the morning 🙂

    • Teresa June 25, 2017 at 9:12 pm #

      They shrink. LOL I swear they do.

  3. pattisj June 25, 2017 at 11:00 pm #

    Goodness, they keep you busy!

  4. peacelovepointers June 26, 2017 at 7:27 am #

    I wish our yard was fenced; our chickens are always going and scratching around in our neighbor’s garden. One of these days they’re going to ruin it before I shoo them away, and I’m going to feel really bad. Fortunately they like our chickens and are very nice. Anyone have any ideas about affordable fencing that would work for chickens and dogs but doesn’t look too terrible? We live in town (ugh) so looks do (unfortunately) matter.

    • Teresa June 26, 2017 at 7:58 am #

      Not sure what would work for chickens. I think they would go over most fences.

      • peacelovepointers June 26, 2017 at 2:32 pm #

        Well, they certainly could fly over any fence, but for some reason they have never flown over my garden fence, even when I had nice juicy tomatoes in there. Maybe I just have really stupid chickens. XD

  5. Linda Hutchison June 26, 2017 at 9:43 am #

    Oh how I love love love your blog! Wish I lived anywhere nearby….I would come by with tea and cookies and spend the rest of the afternoon helping you with your funny, stubborn, whimsical goats!! Have a wonderful last week of June!

    • Teresa June 26, 2017 at 9:46 am #

      That would be delightful, but I’m pretty sure the goats woul steal the cookies.

  6. Jeanne June 26, 2017 at 4:15 pm #

    I groan with you Teresa, over these rascally goats! But I loved reading about it. 😉 They are a never-ending job, for sure!

  7. scotiaspinner June 26, 2017 at 5:07 pm #

    Goodness, you’ve been having such a time lately with escaping goats, hiding goats, disappearing chickens and geese….I wish everything would just calm down a little bit for you so you could have some peaceful, no-crisis-today kinds of days!

    • Teresa June 26, 2017 at 9:45 pm #

      I would love for boring, but it never seems to happen. At least I have my summers off work to tend to all this stuff. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

