Lost in Coyote Woods

22 Jun

Just south of my sunny and beautiful Back Forty lies the dangerous place known as the Coyote Woods.  It’s dangerous.  If a goat goes in there and doesn’t return before dark, they won’t return at all.

When I was weeding the garden, I heard the loud, upset voice of a goat.  I figured someone was stuck, so I took off (photos, including the one above, are a re-creation because I don’t carry a camera when I garden and I don’t dilly dally when I go get a goat unstuck).  As I got closer to the fence line, I felt my heart sink.  It was T-Bone, Victoria’s big beautiful and wild buck.

“Get away from me! I want my maa!!!!!!!”

It was worse than having his head stuck–he was in the Coyote Woods, and he didn’t know how to get back.  I wished him luck with the coyotes and headed back to the house.  By the time I had finished my trek across pasture and returned to the barnyard, my plan was in place.

I waited for the rest of the herd to return.  I really hoped he would have miraculously figured out how to get back, but nope.  He wasn’t there.

I got a collar and leash and called my mom to assist.  When she got here, I told Victoria we were going after her boy.  For some reason, she thought we were going back into the pasture.

“I suppose I can go back out to pasture and eat some more while we look for my boy,” said Victoria.

Nope.  Instead, I loaded her onto the Ranger (She didn’t want to do that again, even just for pictures, so you get my really bad Photoshop re-creation for this).  We slowly drove down the road to the bottom of my property.

“Can I steer? You’re driving like a maniac!” yelled Victoria.

After wading through grasses taller than me, we got to the panel that I can open between the two properties.  I tied Victoria there (with my mom to make sure she didn’t tangle herself up).

“Oh, this collar does pinch a bit, and I can reach those delicious weeds,” she complained.

Then I went up the hill to find her boy in the dark and dangerous woods.  Luckily, he was still right along the fence line.  When I got past him, I yelled down to Victoria that she needed to call to him.  I figured, even if she didn’t respond, he’d run away from me towards his mom.  Luckily, she answered me.

“I’m here, T-bone, baby! Come to maamaa!”

He answered her.  It was just a few minutes before he got to the bottom of the hill.  We had one minor detour when I got too close, but I waded through the brambles and got behind him again to steer him in the right direction.  I heard my mom shout to me that he was through!  Well, yay, but I was busy removing the raspberry brambles from my legs.

After I finally freed myself and made it back to the open panel, I untied Victoria and the two of them took off on hoof to go back to the barnyard.

I told my mom I’d take the Ranger around through pasture to get my supplies to refasten the panel and pick her up. (Did I mention that I had just had my dad help me put a new battery in the Ranger that morning because I was tired of having to charge it for thirty minutes before I could use it?)

When I turned to face the west, I saw a horrible storm cloud on the horizon.

I raced through the field of tall grass in the Ranger.  I had seed flying everywhere, filling the Ranger, pelting me in the face, sticking to my chest.  By the time I got there, my bra was full of grass seed (I’ll spare you that: no re-creation).

I told my mom I’d just put one wire on and come back later.  She seemed puzzled by my rush because she hadn’t yet seen the storm moving in.  I quickly told her, “Get in the Ranger and keep your mouth shut.”  I think she was a bit offended about the keep your mouth shut part until I elaborated that it would be full of grass seed.  Then I took off driving like a maniac.  We pulled into the garage just as the storm hit!

Whew!  Safe and sound.  T-Bone better be thanking me for that.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my side bar.

5 Responses to “Lost in Coyote Woods”

  1. Margret Adamson June 22, 2017 at 4:47 pm #

    Well there never seems to be a dull moment on your farm and I am so glad everyone is safe and home again.

  2. Jeanne June 22, 2017 at 6:22 pm #

    Well that’s quite a story!! I’m so glad all worked out well, but I wish I could have seen your mom’s face when you told her to keep her mouth shut!! I had to laugh when I read that, just thinking about it!

  3. Jim June 23, 2017 at 12:28 am #

    Wow! That was close, Teresa. I’m glad you got your mission accomplished. Pretty scenery, our KP would enjoy hiking in your pasture. More So riding in the Gator. She’d like to drive too.
    ..

  4. Andrea Ostapovitch June 23, 2017 at 6:59 am #

    Quite the adventure! I’m glad it turned out and no one was lost for good.
    Have a lovely weekend,
    Andrea

  5. pattisj June 25, 2017 at 10:48 pm #

    Wow! Another action-packed adventure! Glad you beat the storm in.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

