Garden’s In

6 Jun

In between raccoons and chickens and kidding and bottle feeding and work and puppy and everything else, I’ve been working on my garden.  It’s finally all planted!

I have sixty-four tomatoes, peppers, chili peppers, beans, okra, zucchini and other stuff.

We’re actually pretty dry.  That means I need to water my garden tonight.  As I was working out there, I noticed the cherries are starting to turn.

Hopefully, my dog will leave everything alone.  He did eat a four-pack of peppers before I ever got them planted (sounds like another puppy rule).

I’m not sure I’ll actually get anything done with them this year.  We’ll see.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

9 Responses to “Garden’s In”

  1. Deborah M. Vaughan June 6, 2017 at 5:28 pm #

    One of my dogs lives for my cucumber plants and the actual cucumbers. So far my peppers are safe. Dogs have the most unusual tastes in veggies.

  2. Margaret June 6, 2017 at 6:01 pm #

    Great work getting all those veggies planted and I d hope the dog leaves them alone.

  3. Suzanne Gunter McClendon June 6, 2017 at 10:01 pm #

    My heart stopped at “64 tomatoes”. The rest of the stuff you listed is great, but tomatoes….we’d think we’d died and gone to Heaven if we had that many tomato plants that actually produced. 🙂

    I enjoyed your pictures. I hope the dog doesn’t bother your garden too much. Have a blessed night.

    • Teresa June 6, 2017 at 10:02 pm #

      I like to can tomatoes in about every way possible. 🙂

      • Suzanne Gunter McClendon June 6, 2017 at 10:05 pm #

        Cool. How did you learn to can? I’ve never canned anything. My granny did, but I never learned how. We love, love tomato sandwiches here. We could eat them every day. One of the funniest things we discovered upon moving to Texas is that these folks had no clue what a tomato sandwich was. They’d look at us and say, “A what?” Wow, have they been deprived!

      • Teresa June 6, 2017 at 10:21 pm #

        I have always canned with my mother and grandmother. Don’t even really remember learning to do it.

      • Suzanne Gunter McClendon June 6, 2017 at 10:24 pm #

        Then you learned the very best way. What special memories you must have. 🙂

  4. Jeanne June 7, 2017 at 12:54 am #

    Suzanne, you can learn to can! It’s not that difficult. Either get a good book from the Ball or the Kerr company or check with your Home Extension Agent. It can be done.

    Teresa, I hope your garden does really well. Would you believe that in the first summer of our marriage, (59 years ago!) I was so desperate to can tomatoes, that I actually canned a bunch of cherry tomatoes??!! Really! 🙂

  5. Andrea Ostapovitch June 7, 2017 at 9:20 am #

    I used to can a lot of tomatoes too, but now I just grow enough for fresh and buy canned through the winter. Now if I end up with too many, which is what happened off of just 4 plants last year, I cook them into chili and pasta sauce and freeze everything. I still can though, pickles, jellies, juices. It’s a lot of fun filling the cold room with fresh jars.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

