Tequilla and Midnight Margarita Drinking Problems

4 Jun

Last night when the goats came up for the evening, I noticed Maggie had really dropped and her udder was completely full, so I wasn’t surprised when she was in active labor at my bedtime check.  So much for bed.

Maggie

She was having a lot of contractions, but she wasn’t pushing, so I finally did a quick check.  Her cervix wasn’t fully open, but I could tell there was a baby right there.  I waited for a bit longer, and when the baby’s bag broke, I checked again.  She still wasn’t fully dilated, but I could feel teeth and no feet.  I called the vet and continued trying to work on getting the kid here.  After working to get her cervix open I finally found feet, but I could not get him pulled.

I think my moving the kid and getting him positioned correctly helped because she finally started pushing.  I kept checking my clock and it was about twenty minutes after I talked to the vet at 11:54 pm that I finally got her big boy out.  He was about enough “to-kill-ya”.  He was slow to start and very weak after that long ordeal.

The vet arrived just a couple of minutes later, and I told her what was going on and let her know she got to deal with whatever else Maggie had in there.  She gloved up and I held Maggie while she went in.  It’s never good when she says, “That’s probably part of the problem.  Yuck.”  She pulled out a dead rotting fetus.  She went right back in and said the next one felt more normal in size.  She brought out a living dark little girl just after midnight.

Maggie and kids

I present to you Tequilla and Midnight Margarita.

Tequilla

Midnight Margarita

Unfortunately their long difficult birth was hard on them, and neither one seems able to figure out the nursing.  I did milk some colostrum out of Maggie and put in a bottle.  I finally managed to get them to take a good bottle of the colostrum.

Hopefully Tequilla and Margarita will start drinking strait from the jug and get past their drinking problem soon.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

9 Responses to “Tequilla and Midnight Margarita Drinking Problems”

  1. Margret Adamson June 4, 2017 at 4:25 pm #

    Well thawasan eventful night and I hope the 2 baby kids star drinking rom their mother soon

  2. brokenbarn June 4, 2017 at 6:05 pm #

    Oh, they are beauties and their names fit perfectly! I hope they get going soon.

    • Teresa June 4, 2017 at 9:17 pm #

      Margarita has started nursing as long as I help her get the teat. We’re still hoping Tequilla figures it out.

  3. janicead June 4, 2017 at 8:02 pm #

    Another event filled night in your life.

  4. Jeanne June 4, 2017 at 10:39 pm #

    Oh boy! That was quite an ordeal for everyone concerned! But at least you got two kids, who will hopefully do well in a few days! You amaze me, at how well you do, handling all those situations! The names are as cute as the babies! I hope that by the next time you write, both of them will be nursing normally and with gusto!

  5. Eileen June 5, 2017 at 5:59 am #

    Hello, so cute. I am glad their was a happy ending. Good luck to Maggie and her new kids. Happy Monday, enjoy your new week!

  6. Jim June 5, 2017 at 6:40 pm #

    That vet earned her fee this time!! Good move on your part too. They are cute buggers, the kind to fit in my small back yard. Thanks for doing Friday Hunt, I came after the ‘Headline’ and was well rewarded.
    ..

  7. pattisj June 15, 2017 at 10:07 pm #

    That has to be a mix of emotions, knowing youngsters are on their way but you won’t get much sleep. Glad you got two healthy kids.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

