Archive | 7:48 pm

Sweet Caroline

31 May

Since Annie was due to kid today, before I went back to work yesterday, I shut her (and Vinnie and Clover) into the Love Shack so it would be easier for my mom to check them.  As it turns out, I stayed home sick with a sinus headache.

Polka Sallie Annie Osboer

Luckily, mom still came out to help me keep an eye on the girls.  She also got some llama hugs from Maybeline.

Mom and Maybeline

In the first twenty-four hours that Annie was shut in there, I had to cut the panel three times to get her head out, I got it out once without cutting the panel, and I yelled at her a couple of times to keep her from putting her head through.  She was not happy.  She wanted to go out to pasture with everyone else.  She was not quiet about it.

Sometime after my headache went away but before I felt perfectly back to normal, I saw that she was in labor.  She still continued to focus on everyone out in pasture, so I finally shut her in the Love Shack and told her she wasn’t coming out until she gave birth.  I encouraged her to push.  She tried pushing me out the door.  After being a bit more specific about pushing the baby out her back side, she just hunched up and refused to push or do anything.

I tried to help her, but she turned into a crazy woman screaming, “Don’t touch me there!”  I gave up and called the vet.  It’s a lot easier when I can focus on one end while the vet focuses on the business end.  Finally, he got her baby out.

I present to you Sweet Caroline.

Sweet Caroline Goodberry

Annie seems pretty proud.

The sweet part of Caroline does come from Annie and her mom, Sallie.  Her dad, Sam, is certainly not sweet.

We’ve started off our June kidding with a bang!

I hope you’ll come back and join us for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my sidebar.

