The Most Important Puppy Rule

22 May

Sky is a really good puppy despite all of my silly puppy rules.  He is, however, a German Shepard.  If you know the breed, you know they are intelligent, energetic and have have a hard-wired chase instinct.  That’s one reason I wanted a puppy–to work with it and get it to know my cats and accept them.  Even then, there are some that can’t ever be trusted with cats.  The German Shepard cross we had growing up would kill cats other than ours, but there were times she would chase our cats and have to be corrected.

Sky

Unfortunately, I have Rocky.  Rocky does not understand that getting the German Shepard to chase him is not smart. Really not smart.

Rocky

I can’t combat it.  In the last couple of weeks, Sky has become less respectful of the other cats.  Leo doesn’t want to come back downstairs.  He’s more harassing with Bob, who is avoiding coming up to the house.  I’m worried he’s going to just quit coming home.  Poor Snickers gets chased.  Saturday night, I went out to break up the cat fight and didn’t realize Sky followed me out the door.  He joined the chase across the yard, and he ended up grabbing Snickers.  He stopped when I yelled at him, but I thought he had killed Snickers.

Snickers

I can’t do that to my cats.  I can’t risk their lives, and I can’t train Sky with Rocky begging him to play chase.  I am trying to find a new home for him before it’s too late.

Please realize how difficult this is and refrain from offering advice or nasty comments.  Thank you.

13 Responses to “The Most Important Puppy Rule”

  1. bagheeracr May 22, 2017 at 6:24 pm #

    My Australian Sheppard chases our cats, the cats beat the fur (literally) off her, and the dog still doesn’t learn that the cats don’t want to be her friend.
    I’m sorry you’ve got to go through this, its always hard.

  2. Gloria May 22, 2017 at 6:42 pm #

    No nasty comments from this sector. I too have had to make some hard decisions, including a cat who refused to use a litter box. Any place was up for grabs, including my stove top! Fortunately I found a perfect home for her, although two gets told me it might be better to put her down. There is a wonderful home out there for Sky, blessings to you both.

  3. Suzanne Gunter McClendon May 22, 2017 at 7:07 pm #

    {{{Hugs}}}

  4. janicead May 22, 2017 at 7:44 pm #

    So very sorry >: (

  5. Dave From Philadelphia May 22, 2017 at 8:07 pm #

    Dear Theresa,

    No advice. No criticism. ALL support. You obviously care deeply about every child of God in your care and I am certain you thought about this carefully before making your decision. I support your decision 100%.

  6. Patty Leonard Woodland May 22, 2017 at 8:38 pm #

    Oh I’m so sorry. I know how much you love them all.

  7. brokenbarn May 22, 2017 at 9:19 pm #

    I am sorry you have to do this. Good luck in finding him a good home.

  8. Claire L Moxon-Waltz May 23, 2017 at 7:20 am #

    Oh no, what a sad situation. I went through the same thing with Jet and Izzy. It was heartbreaking but when you can’t trust them, it doesn’t leave you with good choices.

  9. Eileen May 23, 2017 at 7:56 am #

    Hello, poor Snickers, I hope it will be ok. I hope Sky can be trained to be nice to your kitties. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

  10. Patty B May 23, 2017 at 8:41 am #

    I pray you can find a good home for him. My heart goes out to you for having to make this decision. Hugs….

  11. hedgewitch May 23, 2017 at 9:07 am #

    I’m so sorry it’s working out this way–I have had several shepherd mixes and have had big problems with all of them–they are smart and affectionate family dogs, but they just have a strong kill instinct towards other animals, and also can be ‘too much of a good thing’ as a watch dog–a German Shepherd is the only dog who has ever bitten me, and that was while his owner was talking and laughing with me–she was barely able to pull him off. I hope you are able to find a good home for Sky.

  12. WolfSong May 23, 2017 at 9:22 am #

    No nasty comments from me…
    I know this all to well. Had to send my lovely boy back to the breeder because he grabbed my Palomino by the muzzle, drawing blood.
    People kept trying to give us advice on how to train it out of him (train instinct out of him? not likely), but, at the end of the day, we made a commitment to the horses first, and yeah, if we couldn’t trust him when we were right beside him (which is when he did it to her) how could we ever trust him outside alone, even for a few moments.

    Hugs to you…I know how hard this is for you. ❤

  13. peacelovepointers May 23, 2017 at 11:41 am #

    Oh, I can’t even begin to imagine how you must feel. But I am sure you will find the best possible home for him, and he will be very happy there.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

