Spa Day

7 May

Last weekend our weather was cold, windy, rainy and miserable.  Every day throughout the week, it got a bit nicer and warmer.  That means by Friday, when it was sunny and 76*F (*C) with little wind, the pregnant goats and llamas were hot.  Odie was miserable.

Odie

Luckily, the two llama lladies did not have long to wait for getting sheared.  Saturday morning, when the goats were in pasture and they were in the barnyard, I bribed them into the greenhouse with some corn.  Judging by the ears, they were not amused.  I tried to tell them it wasn’t really Alcatraz.  It was just a girls day to be pampered before their spa treatments.

They did finally settle down.

Maybeline in front

Sunday the shearers arrived.  It’s the same super nice family that did Llenny’s shearing last year–Aspen Rayne Ranch.  We started with Maybeline.

Odie was second.  Here’s she’s getting a good blowing off before they start shearing.

It’s crazy how much wool those girls had.  They were really warm.

While they switched tools, I wormed them.

Then they got their hooves trimmed.

They look much cooler!  That’s good because we are supposed to be even warmer this coming week.  I present to you…

Maybeline

Odie

Now I have to decide what to do with two bags of wool.

I’m thinking rugs.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt next week.  I have the items listed at the top of my side bar.

7 Responses to “Spa Day”

  1. scotiaspinner May 7, 2017 at 5:39 pm #

    Wow, Maybeline’s white spots are so white! She also looks slightly (?) heavier than Odie. They are so good at hiding pregnancies, but I wonder if Maybeline might be on track with a cria. That would be so exciting. Their fleeces would make lovely rugs – does the mill do that for you?

    • Teresa May 8, 2017 at 3:22 pm #

      I have no idea if they are pregnant. I’m guessing Odie might be. Maybeline is anyone’s guess. I need to figure out what to do with their fleece. I’m thinking rugs or other projects. I have to decide how to wash it. I assume I need it carded at least before I can try and do anything. I actually thought I might try locked hooking (???) it myself. We’ll see. I might be messaging you to pick your brain for ideas. LOL

  2. Jeanne May 7, 2017 at 7:33 pm #

    WOW is right!! Those lladies llook llovely!! I’m amazed at how much smaller they really are! You’ll have to show us whatever it is you do with their fleeces! Please!

  3. janicead May 7, 2017 at 9:37 pm #

    Nothing like a haircut to improve the day! Llovely Lladies!

  4. Alica May 8, 2017 at 9:14 am #

    Wow, they look much more comfortable! Rugs sound great. You could also use a little of it to make nesting wreaths for the birds…bet they would sell in your online store, or when you have your fall pumpkin patch!

    • Teresa May 8, 2017 at 3:23 pm #

      They were miserable. I have the bird nest balls on my list of options.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

