Too Much to Handle

12 Mar

I have to say, kidding has been overall good this round, but there are three things that have really made it more challenging.  First is the German Shepard puppy in my kitchen.  He’s a very good puppy, but our colder weather the last couple of days has made it a challenge.  We go outside and he’s shivering in no time at all.

Sky

He needs to go out and run and play, and I’ve been busy with the goats.

When I’m in the barnyard, he could go play, but he’s usually just sitting there waiting for me.

It’s been a challenge to give him attention and keep working on the house training. For some reason, we go outside for an hour and when we come back in the first thing he does is pee on the pad.  Sigh…

The second thing is the kitten.  I told you Rocky is a monster.  Well, he’s that friend who has all the fun ideas that get you in trouble.  (That might have something to do with Puppy Rule #2.)

Rocky and Sky

He instigates.  He antagonizes.  He goads the puppy on.  I’m also worried the puppy is going to treat him like just another rag toy to shake around.  They drive me crazy.

Now Rocky just came back from the vets.  They wouldn’t keep him all week even though I told them it would make my life easier (I probably could have boarded him, but it was a bit excessive to recover from surgery).

So Rocky, the very social kitty, is shut upstairs so he can recover from surgery without wrestling with a puppy.  He whines.  He cries.  He tries to open the door.  It’s all very melodramatic.

He’s not even alone.  He has Leo (remember, he moved up there after Sky came to join us on the farm).

Leo

Then there’s Fred.  Fred is a sweet bottle kid.  He loves dancing and his bottle.  I hobbled together a pen in the living room after putting down a layer of plastic (because there’s a German Shepard puppy in my kitchen).

Fred and Snickers

He is a herd animal though, and he lost his friend.  I’m afraid Squishy didn’t make it.  (Too much fluid he couldn’t clear out of his lungs after his difficult birth.)  Goats need company.

Every time I tried to feed Fred and spend a few minutes with him, I had jealous puppy issues.  I couldn’t do it.  I took Fred to the sale barn yesterday and sold him as a “Crazy Goat Lady Starter Kit” complete with some milk and a bottle.  He was bought by a young couple who looked quite happy to have him.

My life will be a tiny bit easier now.

I do hope you’ll consider joining me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have next week’s items at the top of my side bar.

11 Responses to “Too Much to Handle”

  1. S. J. Qualls March 12, 2017 at 5:44 pm #

    You gotta do what you gotta do. Think I would have done the same if I were in your shoes. Good-bye Fred.
    Leo looks so bored, 🙂

  2. bagheeracr March 12, 2017 at 6:12 pm #

    You might try tether training for Sky, and crate training if you haven’t already.
    It’s both hard and heart warming when you re-home a critter to the right home.

  3. JoDi March 12, 2017 at 7:16 pm #

    Hang in there, girl. Looks like Sky is VERY good. If he can sit there and wait for you outside without getting himself in trouble, embrace it. Too many puppies his age are way too hyper to sit still like that. As for house breaking him … move the puppy pad closer to the door (unless that’s where it already is). You could even put one outside, too, just to make him feel more comfy going outside. Personally, I hate puppy pads, as they actually teach the dog to go indoors. I promise it will get easier, but first, it might get a bit worse, when Sky hits the real adolescence and his fear phase.

    • Teresa March 12, 2017 at 7:23 pm #

      He really is good. That’s the struggle I’m having with him. He was already pad trained. That’s good since the weather is cold and I can’t put him out while I’m at work, but I don’t know how to get him out the door now. I’ll be glad when the weather changes again and I can have him out in the yard while I’m at work. He’ll get to run all that excess energy off too. 😉

  4. Kermit March 12, 2017 at 7:18 pm #

    The one thing that has been proven so much is that humans can really ruin the pets resistence to cold and all sorts of weather issues is by having them in the house rather then in outside shelter so they can acclimate to all types of temperatures.

    • Teresa March 12, 2017 at 7:22 pm #

      He was born inside. I’m working on getting him acclimated. We were doing really well until the unusual cold hit.

  5. pattisj March 12, 2017 at 9:27 pm #

    I’m glad you found a good home for wee Fred.

  6. Jeanne March 12, 2017 at 10:55 pm #

    I’m glad things worked out with Fred. One down, one ( or more) to go! I think Sky will come around with the potty training sooner or later. It’s a big step to learn to make the adjustment from the potty pads to actually going outside. We prefer to use crate training with our dogs when they are very young. He may be too old already to start it. I don’t know…

  7. Margaret Adamson March 13, 2017 at 1:58 am #

    YOu certainly have got your hands VERY full

  8. Eileen March 13, 2017 at 6:13 am #

    Hello, your puppy is just adorable. Happy Monday, enjoy your new week!

  9. anotherday2paradise March 13, 2017 at 7:05 am #

    You really have your hands full. 😅

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

