Archive | 5:17 pm

Stormy’s Turn

4 Mar

I am really happy I didn’t hit the snooze alarm just one more time like I wanted to this morning because when I got outside I heard a horrible pain-filled yell that immediately told me someone was about to give birth.  I ran to the barn and found Stormy had just had her first kid.

Stormy and buck #1

Stormy and buck #1

It was a huge beautiful buck.  I moved  her to the green house where it was a bit warmer and helped her dry the baby off.  He was immediately trying to stand and nurse.  He is a real go-getter!

buckling_1765ews

doe-and-kid_1763ews

It was just a few minutes when she paused for a contraction.  I saw she had the kid hanging out, so I just caught him with my towel and cleaned the bag off his face.  This one one was literally about a third the size of the first one.  I showed him to Stormy, but she was so busy with her first kid that she didn’t notice.  This one was weak.  He didn’t cry and just laid under the heat lamp.  I kept showing Stormy, but she was really befuddled.  He smelled right, but she knew she only had one kid.  Well, he’s in the house now.  He’s had a bottle.

Buck #2

Buck #2

He doesn’t act like a full-term kid.  He acts like a premie.  I’m sure he is so small because of our really mild winter.  When it’s this warm eggs that are fertilized and attach to the uterus in a not-so-perfect spot aren’t sloughed off by the body.  They actually get enough to survive, but they are small.   I lovingly refer to these kids as afterfarts.  He will be fine, but I’m pretty sure Stormy is never going to believe me that she actually gave birth to two kids.

