Pneumonia

29 Jan

I know I sound like a broken record, but I’ll say it again.  The horrible warm fall and crazy up-and-down temperatures are really hard on the animals.  Now Llenny has pneumonia.

Llenny

Llenny

Unfortunately sheep, goats, and llamas all mask their symptoms.  It’s hard to know when they don’t feel well.  Add to that all of his wool, and I don’t know how long he had been sick.  I have been worried, but I couldn’t figure out any symptoms other than losing weight.  Then I caught him in a wet, phlegmy cough.

llama_9934ews

I consulted the vet and had my nephew come help me treat Llenny with antibiotics.  He’s shut in the Love Shack now, so he doesn’t have to fight the goats for food.  He isn’t following the llama lladies out to pasture.  He has nothing to do buy eat and recover.  Bless my nephew.  He even brought me a bale of really good, rich alfalfa hay.

llama_9963ews

I even decided to shut Daisy in with him, so he has company.

Daisy

Daisy

It also worked well to get Daisy away from her mom because Bambi is going to have new kids in just over a month, and I kept catching Daisy nursing yet.

llama-and-kid_0016ews

I even brought home some sweet feed to try and encourage him to eat more.  Hopefully, he’ll be able to recover.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my side bar.

11 Responses to “Pneumonia”

  1. Margaret January 29, 2017 at 8:01 pm #

    that is terrible news about Llemy. I do hope he recovers quickly and having daisy there might help with that.

    • Teresa January 29, 2017 at 8:11 pm #

      He is already improving. We had to give his second shot of antibiotics today, and he was much more feisty. That is a very good sign.

  2. brokenteepee January 29, 2017 at 8:44 pm #

    Poor Llenny. I’m glad he is feeling better and not llonely.

    • Teresa January 29, 2017 at 9:02 pm #

      Well, stinking Daisy escaped. I still don’t know how, but he still seems content to lounge and munch.

  3. Kermit Johnson January 29, 2017 at 11:03 pm #

    I do hope that she will get beyond that and start feeling better!

  4. Eileen January 30, 2017 at 4:49 am #

    Hello, so sorry Llenny is sick. Sending my get well wishes and prayers for a quick recovery.

  5. hedgewitch January 30, 2017 at 9:48 am #

    So sorry to hear this about LLenny, the brave guard llama. I hope he makes a full recovery ASAP.

  6. Jim January 30, 2017 at 10:08 am #

    Hi Teresa ~~ Life on the farm isn’t as dull as people might think. Poor Lenny, I am glad he is getting some better and here is hoping for his speedy recovery in full. Daisy is a fickle buddy, shame on her. She probably went looking for some more Mama’s milk.
    .

  7. Alica January 30, 2017 at 9:33 pm #

    Llenny! Hope he’s soon feeling better!! This weather sure is a crazy mess!

  8. Jeanne January 30, 2017 at 11:47 pm #

    Wow if it isn’t one thing it’s something else! I’m glad Llenny is showing signs of improvement already. I hope he’ll soon be completely back to normal.

  9. pattisj February 6, 2017 at 11:45 pm #

    I hope Llenny recovers quickly, and the new living arrangements work out for Daisy and the rest of her family (to come).

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

