Ice Storm

16 Jan

We had an ice storm warning starting last night and going through midnight tonight.  I had a snow day from work, and I hoped to have lots of lovely ice images to share with you, but it has rained all day.  We’ve had a lot of rain.

water-puddle_9530ews

I did not want to try walking on the ice with an umbrella in one hand and a camera in the other, so by the time I went out to take pictures, it wasn’t very pretty.

ice-tree_9531ews

I did still find some ice clinging to leaves and summer’s thistles.

ice-leaves_9526ews

ice-thistle_9520ews

Beneath the rain, there is still a solid layer of ice making it quite dangerous to walk.

ice-barnyard_9532ews

I have to admit, I laughed at a goose trying to walk across the ice.  Poor baby was slipping and sliding and plopping down on its belly before it finally made it back to a safe area to walk.  You know it’s slippery when the geese can’t walk because they have those little claws to help them grip (see on the lifted foot).

ice-goose_9537ews

Red thought he’d be brave and try walking on the ice.  I expected him to look like Disney’s Bambi.

Red

Red

He got smart and decided he was not about to go any further.  He hurried back to maa, Harley, and had a quick nursing to make him feel better about almost getting out on the ice (we’re discussing the need to wean him).

ice-goat_9557ews

Some of the goats got brave and tried to go out to pasture to eat.  I guess they didn’t trust me to feed them or something.  Vixen didn’t look too happy with walking back up the lane.

Vixen and Cutie

Vixen and Cutie

Cutie did pretty good on it though.  I was impressed.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  This week’s items are listed at the top of my side bar.

9 Responses to “Ice Storm”

  1. Anonymous January 16, 2017 at 6:28 pm #

    Funny! 🙂

  2. brokenteepee January 16, 2017 at 7:17 pm #

    Ice storms are so very beautiful and so very damaging all at the same time.

    • Teresa January 16, 2017 at 7:24 pm #

      Luckily this one turned out to be pretty mild here. But it was not very pretty either. I’m hoping for some hoarfrost in the morning (with a two hour delay for school already announced).

  3. Jim January 16, 2017 at 10:49 pm #

    I love to watch the animals adapting to navigating on the ice. Just as neat is the dogs when they first experience snow. Glad you didn’t have too much ice, that coral is a mess though. We had a lot of rain and a couple of tornados. Those are generally small affairs here along the Texas Gulf Coast. Knock a few trees down and a few corrugated roofs.
    ..

  4. Margret Birdinith ggreat heat!!!wg For Pleasure January 17, 2017 at 12:29 am #

    I have neve experienced aice storm myself but it must be funny watching the animals trying to walk on the ice

  5. Jeanne January 17, 2017 at 2:07 am #

    We’ve had some ice here. It can be treacherous! A newscaster was telling how you should walk like a penguin on the ice. The showed a video of a woman doing it. It might actually work!

  6. scotiaspinner January 17, 2017 at 2:12 pm #

    Wow, that is definitely a lot of ice – it will take a while for that to melt, especially if you get snow on top of it and it just sits under there, waiting for unsuspecting feet. The critters don’t look too happy about it either, but you did get some great photographs!

    • Teresa January 17, 2017 at 3:54 pm #

      40s and 50s the rest of the week. Mud wrestling weather!

  7. pattisj January 18, 2017 at 11:04 pm #

    Cutie is a nice-looking goat, filling out well. Red! Poor geese! I imagine it was funny to watch them.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

