Cold Kills

7 Jan

The thing about winter is it helps to thin the population in wild animals.  This happens with domestic animals as well.  The old and the weak often can’t make it through the winter.  I already lost Meg and Muffin because they were old and couldn’t take the cold.  Now Boeris couldn’t take it after having been seriously ill at the first of December.  I came home from work yesterday and found he had died.

boeris-collage

I will miss his raspy yell in the barnyard.

13 Responses to “Cold Kills”

  1. Anne January 7, 2017 at 6:06 pm #

    Blessings to you all. It is so hard. I’ve enjoyed hearing about him over the years.

  2. Dave From Philadelphia January 7, 2017 at 6:12 pm #

    I am really sorry for your losses. I understand working even a small farm involves dealing with death on a regular basis. But, I am sure these still hurt and take a bite out of you every time. Here is to kidding and the circle of life.

  3. Mary Ann January 7, 2017 at 6:28 pm #

    It’s true, but it doesn’t mean we have to like it.

  4. jMo January 7, 2017 at 6:56 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear this, such a difficult thing for everyone.

  5. Karen Seek January 7, 2017 at 7:26 pm #

    So sorry to hear that Teresa 🙈

  6. brokenteepee January 7, 2017 at 8:18 pm #

    Oh Teresa. I just don’t know what to write. The last few months have been so hard for you.

  7. Robyn Nichols January 7, 2017 at 9:00 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear about another death. You have had so many problems over the last few months. I enjoy reading your blog and seeing your pictures. Will pray for peace and comfort for you.

  8. Jeanne January 7, 2017 at 11:44 pm #

    I’m very sorry, Teresa. I know you had problems with Boris, but you also loved him. Its such a shock to have a friend die so suddenly. I wish I could have heard his yell.

  9. scotiaspinner January 8, 2017 at 7:18 am #

    Very sad to read this news – you have had some difficult losses lately. Boeris and Fezzik were about the same age, because I got Fez in the summer of 2011. Both gone too soon. Sending big hugs from Canada. I think you deserve an amazing and trouble-free kidding season ahead!

  10. hedgewitch January 8, 2017 at 7:22 am #

    So difficult–sorry, Teresa. Regardless of understanding the whys and wherefores, it’s still a painful loss.

    • Anonymous January 8, 2017 at 7:56 am #

      I’m sorry for you.

  11. pattisj January 8, 2017 at 11:37 pm #

    Aw, that has to be hard to come home and find another loss. So many of your animals have taken on their own personalities through your stories and stolen a piece of our hearts. Hugs.

  12. Margret Birding For Pleasure January 20, 2017 at 11:37 pm #

    so sorry to hear this news

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

