Sugar

1 Jan

I couldn’t do it.  I couldn’t get her healed up from where she keeps hitting her head.  She started rubbing her wounded head on the metal posts.  It became infected, and she kept it up and today it started bleeding.

sugar-collage

I couldn’t stop it, so I had the vet come out, and we decided it was best to euthanize her.

24 Responses to “Sugar”

  1. Lynn Nielsen January 1, 2017 at 5:33 pm #

    Ah what a crappy way to start the new year. So sorry. Big hugs.

    • Teresa January 1, 2017 at 9:22 pm #

      Farms don’t pause for holidays. That’s for sure. Thank you.

  2. pattisj January 1, 2017 at 5:52 pm #

    Sorry to hear this. One can’t help but wonder what was troubling her. At least now she is at peace, though that’s always a hard decision to have to make. Hugs.

    • Teresa January 1, 2017 at 9:20 pm #

      I have no idea. You’d think it would hurt and she would have quit.

  3. scotiaspinner January 1, 2017 at 5:57 pm #

    So sorry to hear about this. I wonder if it was some kind of neurosis – it just seemed compulsive to a point that it was not healthy. Surely it must have been causing pain. I know it must have been a difficult decision for you, but I think you did the right thing. If only they could talk…

    • Teresa January 1, 2017 at 8:46 pm #

      She hit her head her whole life. It’s just that she finally did damage and I couldn’t get her to stop long enough for it to heal. Finally ended up with a huge bump of growth or scar tissue (vet wasn’t sure). She is much better off.

  4. Mary Ann January 1, 2017 at 6:32 pm #

    I’m so sorry, Teresa…what a way to start your year.

  5. Marigold January 1, 2017 at 8:09 pm #

    So, soo, sorry! BIG hugs!!!!!

  6. Maddie January 1, 2017 at 8:40 pm #

    So sorry! I had to put my buck down today as well :(.

    • Teresa January 1, 2017 at 8:47 pm #

      Oh no! I’m so sorry.

  7. brokenteepee January 1, 2017 at 9:15 pm #

    Oh I am so very sorry. I know how worried you were about her. I wish I could give you a hug.

  8. sO SORRY TO HEAR YOU NEWS. YOU MUST BE VERY SAD TO LOSE HER. i AM STILL IN MALAWI AND MY TIME IN RUNNING OUT AS IS THE POWER MOST DAYS!!!

  9. Jeanne January 2, 2017 at 12:14 am #

    Teresa I’m so very sorry! I know how difficult that is. She was so beautiful! I kept wondering if she had a problem in her head. I know you said that her father and brother are/were the same way.

  10. brokenbarn January 2, 2017 at 10:14 am #

    So sorry. If they would just listen to you when you work so hard to help! Did the vet have any reason why she would do that regularly?

    • Teresa January 2, 2017 at 10:50 am #

      No clue. If only they would listen, life would be much easier.

      • Anonymous January 2, 2017 at 12:22 pm #

        Sorry you lost her. 😦

  11. Anne January 2, 2017 at 12:34 pm #

    So sorry. Not an easy decision to make but it was the right one for her. Blessings to you.

  12. Anney Horlacher January 2, 2017 at 2:42 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear that you have lost another goat. I’m praying that this year gets better for you.

    • Teresa January 2, 2017 at 2:45 pm #

      There will be many losses. I have an old herd. That is the way it works.

  13. Anonymous January 3, 2017 at 12:38 pm #

    my heart aches for you and your sweet goatie. you did all you could. hugs. –suz in ohio

  14. twila forsyth January 9, 2017 at 11:14 am #

    hugs…….

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

