Just Stop

22 Dec

I can’t tell you how many times I have told Sugar to just stop beating her head on everything.  She will not listen to me.  Now it’s such a mess all she has to do it barely touch something and she rubs the scabs off.  She has her head bleeding like crazy again tonight.

Sugar Osboer

Sugar Osboer

I’ve had the vets here. I can order a ram mask to give her some padding, but I can’t do that until she’s healed up.  Their suggestion is to sell her, but she is due to kid in March, and I won’t sell her to someone as a breeding doe.  She is petrified of people (does okay with me if I’m not touching/doing anything to her).  I’m just trying to figure out how to get her not to bleed to death until her kids get here.   I just want to cry every time I look at her.  Just stop.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt tomorrow (and I promise no gross goat pictures).  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

17 Responses to “Just Stop”

  1. Anonymous December 22, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

    I don’t know much about sheep and sheep behavior (spinner and wannabe weaver), but could you make her a “hat” that loops around those horns and at least keeps the scabs protected? Maybe burlap or cloth?
    Or would she let you put some petroleum jelly or simular on her head to help with the dry scabs?
    Any idea why she bangs her head?
    Is there an infection risk with the ram mask being on over broken skin?

    • bagheeracr December 22, 2016 at 7:28 pm #

      No idea why that didn’t register as me.

    • Teresa December 22, 2016 at 7:29 pm #

      I really can’t touch her. The vet’s recommendation was a spray, but it was too cold. I can try to do that now, but she is not tame. She will tolerate me. Any movement of any kind of covering right now would remove any scab and cause more bleeding. She has always hit things, but she just is out of control right now. I don’t know why.

      • bagheeracr December 22, 2016 at 7:38 pm #

        Hum, critters can be so weird.
        I’ll keep thinking on it.
        Is it possible she has some kind of parasite causing her to bang her head?

        Oh, idea. Would she stick her head into a bucket? Like a feed bucket or a mailing stanchion?

      • Teresa December 22, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

        It’s a family trait. Her half brother and father are also head bangers. I can spray her when she is eating sometimes. Now that our weather has warmed up, I’ll try to use the wound heal spray again.

      • bagheeracr December 22, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

        Maybe a tasty enough treat in the bucket will give you time to treat her. Good luck with her.

      • bagheeracr December 22, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

        What about a sticky treat to the bottom of the bucket? Or a treat that can be tied to a post?
        Thinking of ways we corral our dog into things she doesn’t want to do and trying to modify them for a goat.

  2. brokenteepee December 22, 2016 at 8:00 pm #

    I know this wears on you. They can be infuriating creatures.

    • Teresa December 22, 2016 at 8:00 pm #

      That’s for sure.

  3. Mary Ann December 22, 2016 at 8:18 pm #

    Have you always had her?

    • Teresa December 22, 2016 at 8:21 pm #

      She was born here.

  4. Jeanne December 22, 2016 at 11:38 pm #

    I have no idea what to offer for help, but I do have a question. Do you have a plan as to what to do with her after her kids are born? She must be miserable. I feel sad for her, and you as well.

    • Teresa December 23, 2016 at 9:46 am #

      Once her kids are here, I hope she’s healed and can raise them. I can use the ram mask to hopefully keep her from busting her head open again. If not, I can always raise her kids and make the most humane decision I can for her.

      • Linda Hutchison December 27, 2016 at 3:50 pm #

        Does she do this when she is not expecting? Possibly she doesn’t like being pregnant. I’m sorry if that is a dumb question, but I’m trying to figure out the cause of such behavior. Bless you. …. and her!

      • Teresa December 27, 2016 at 4:32 pm #

        She does it all the time. She is a wonderful mother.

  5. jMo December 22, 2016 at 11:51 pm #

    I hope the spray helps, won’t the cold help her heal?

  6. pattisj December 28, 2016 at 9:48 pm #

    Maybe she listens to “head-banging” music that only she can hear? Sorry you both have to deal with this.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

