Cleaning the Barn

11 Dec

It’s been way too long since the cattle lean-to on my barn was cleaned out.  My nephew that does it is incredibly busy, and the fall weather has not cooperated.  The last two falls have been horribly wet, making it impossible to clean out.  The two years before, we had early cold and snow making it impossible to clean out.  I was absolutely giddy when I heard my nephew pull up by the barn with the tractor.  He had brought a big round cornstalk bale for bedding the lean-to when it was cleaned.

cornstalk-bale_8378ews

Then he went back for the tractor and manure spreader.  His final trip was the Hydro for cleaning it out.

scooping-manure_8375ews

You can see how far down his front tires sank.  He was trying to go up hill.  Notice how narrow the door is and how close behind him the fence it.  That’s kind of why it’s not a fun barn to clean out.  He was having problems, so his dad came to help.

scooping-manure_8377ews

He managed to get a little, but it was still a struggle, so we went to plan B.

scooping-manure_8380ews

We removed a panel from the fence on the north side of the barn and dug that big sliding door open and took down my fence and tarp inside the barn and went at it from that side.  It worked, but it was quite the chore.  I am exceedingly grateful to have it done though.  Tomorrow, I’ll share the critters’ reactions.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my side bar.

8 Responses to “Cleaning the Barn”

  1. brokenbarn December 11, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

    Glad it’s all clean, that can be a pain even with the right equipment!

    • Teresa December 11, 2016 at 9:39 pm #

      My hills and the close fence make it really hard. I am so glad to have it done.

      • brokenbarn December 12, 2016 at 12:41 pm #

        It looks like it would be tricky. I bet they loved the new bedding though! Isn’t nest how they unroll?

      • Teresa December 12, 2016 at 12:58 pm #

        It was amazing how well it unrolled!

  2. Jeanne December 12, 2016 at 1:23 am #

    Wow! That was really a huge job! How long did it take?

  3. Eileen Wise December 12, 2016 at 5:01 am #

    Hello, that does look like a big chore. I am glad it is done now, the critters should be very happy. Happy Monday, enjoy your day and week ahead!

  4. pattisj December 13, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

    What a blessing to have family near to help out–and all the equipment.

  5. studentzy December 17, 2016 at 5:08 am #

    I’m happy looking on the pictures, remind me how beatiful it is to live in the country..

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

