Getting Winter Ready and the Geese

27 Nov

It’s that time of year when I have to prepare for winter even if I don’t want to. My first order of business was to unhobble the two gates and panel that are blocking my gate between the yard and barnyard.  I had to do that when there were yard goats fighting with barnyard goats and they destroyed it.

gate_7911ews

I had hoped to replace my front fence and this section when we did dirt work from the garage, but those things have a way of not getting done.  Now it’s down to just the panel, but I have it nailed to swing like a gate.  Hopefully this will get me through the winter.  It will probably be next spring before I can finish clearing all the animal stuff off my patio.

gate_8048ews

You might have noticed the goose in the first shot.  Yeah.  I still have my geese in the yard because of losing half of them to coyotes this summer.  I’ve been trying to figure out where to put everyone so they have shelter, will get to eat and be safe.  Some of the smaller geese have been going into the barnyard, and they’ve even been spending the night, so I figured it was safe to put them back over there.  geese_8074ews

I let the big geese in (I bribed them with corn) the barnyard.  As the others came to join, I realized I was missing the Chinese girl.  I panicked.  I looked everywhere.  I walked in pasture and looked through the buildings.  I couldn’t find her or a pile of feathers anywhere.

geese_8053ews

I didn’t know what to do with the rest of them.  I thought they’d be safe.  I tried getting them into the chicken pen, but they wouldn’t go in.  I finally gave up and went back to winterizing.  I have all of my water tubs cleaned and in place and ready to plug heaters in.

water-tub_8063ews

Then I saw her.  She was completely unconcerned with the fact that I was nearly hysterical over losing another goose.  They are all nine still here.

geese_8051ews

the nine remaining geese

Thankfully.  I do have a bit of a ratio problem.  I know I have two girls, six guys and one unknown.  I will be hopefully getting more girls this spring.

If you’d like to join me for Friday’s Hunt this week, I have the items listed at the top of my side bar.

7 Responses to “Getting Winter Ready and the Geese”

  1. Kermit Johnson November 27, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

    It’s great that you have those critters, I would enjoy seeing your setup!

  2. erika November 28, 2016 at 12:05 am #

    What happened to your peacock family?

  3. Jeanne November 28, 2016 at 7:41 pm #

    Oops! Didn’t see this one! I can understand your panic at the thought of losing that lady goose. I hope all goes well this winter.

    • Teresa November 28, 2016 at 7:58 pm #

      They are all still here this evening! That’s a good thing.

  4. Margaret November 29, 2016 at 2:34 am #

    Where all is well that ends well the geese are all safe but where are the Peacocks?

    • Teresa November 29, 2016 at 6:32 am #

      I still have three that are doing well.

  5. pattisj November 30, 2016 at 1:00 am #

    I didn’t realize you’d lost so many geese to the coyotes.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

