Time to Quit

27 Oct

As much as Dolly is a sweet girl and I enjoy milking her, it’s time to quit.  She is drying up, which isn’t a bad thing.  She’s due to kid on February 1st.

Dolly Ann Street

Dolly Ann Street

For comparison, here’s what I got when I milked Cinnamon tonight.

milk_7012ews

And here’s what Dolly gave me.

milk_7015ews

In case you can’t see very well, here it is after I filtered Dolly’s milk.

milk_7017ews

And here’s when I add the other three girls’ milk too.  I’m down to just a quart a day with my milking.

milk_7018ews

I do think it’s time for me to go to milking three goats instead of four.

doe-eating_7014ews

But Dolly still says she’d like to come in and eat.  Please.

I hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

8 Responses to “Time to Quit”

  1. pattisj October 27, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

    Eating for two! 😉

  2. Sallie (FullTime-Life) October 27, 2016 at 9:48 pm #

    Oh yes, Mama Dolly needs even more to eat than usual (not that I know a thing about goats, but i’m guessing if she’s due to kid soon….). That milk looks rich and wonderfully good, even if it is less than you get part of the year.

  3. Margaret Birding For Pleasure October 28, 2016 at 12:15 am #

    yes Dolly know what side her bread is buttered on!

  4. Eileen Wise October 28, 2016 at 7:31 am #

    Dolly is a sweetie. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

  5. Alica October 28, 2016 at 8:50 am #

    I’m thinking of all your goats milk soap, and hoping you won’t run out! 🙂 Do you ever struggle with carpal tunnel syndrome from all your milking? That’s been an issue for Jim, and it’s just from washing down cows…we don’t even milk by hand!

    • Teresa October 28, 2016 at 2:40 pm #

      I tend to get an milker’s elbow, but it’s not too bad. I have lots of milk in the freezer, but I do have more that I’d like to do. I also need to keep milking to refill my lotion stock after Christmas sales.

  6. janicead October 30, 2016 at 9:41 pm #

    Enjoyed this post. And why not let her just come and eat…..

  7. Jeanne October 31, 2016 at 1:14 pm #

    I got a little behind, having been gone for a couple of days. Plus now I’m checking to make sure I have all of the posts! I like this one. Dolly is so cute. I can’t blame her for wanting to come in and get her corn! Will you do that?

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

