The Continuing Saga of Sugar

17 Oct

You might remember that Sugar was beating her own head against a wooden post to the point that she was bloody and swollen and gross.  Well, when she was stuck in a manger, I did manage to give her a shot of antibiotics because she smelled dead.  Unfortunately, getting poked in the butt was a great incentive to get herself loose, and I didn’t get the chance to clean it up.  After a few days, it was obvious she needed more than just a shot of antibiotics.  I called the vet and with the help of my son and a whole lot of luck, we managed to get her caught and shut in the Love Shack with Xerxes.  Great.  The two wildest goats on the farm are shut in together.

Sugar and Xerxes

Sugar and Xerxes

The vet was not a fan of Sugar.  It was a mutual feeling though.  Sugar got the injury cleaned up.  There is a hole in her horn, which is not good, but I’m not sure what to do about that. Then we used a spray on the injury, which made the maggots come out.  It was disgusting.

goat-horn-injury_6380ews

Bless my nephew for coming each evening and helping me treat her.  I think all the maggots are gone, and it’s starting to look better.  It’s going to be a while before she gets let out of the Love Shack area though.

doe-goat_6290ews

I did manage to catch her and spray her for flies by myself tonight!  Oh, this girl.  She’s killing me.

I hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt this week.  I have the items listed in my side bar.

7 Responses to “The Continuing Saga of Sugar”

  1. Alica October 17, 2016 at 9:20 pm #

    If only you could reason with them and they could understand! I can see how she got the name Sugar!

  2. Patty Leonard Woodland October 17, 2016 at 10:32 pm #

    Erm, ick. At least you were able to give her some help. Some of them are just here to test us I think

  3. pattisj October 17, 2016 at 11:06 pm #

    I hope Sugar gets, and stays, healthy.

  4. Margaret October 17, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

    Maggots! That’s signs disgusting and I am glad you did not show usthat

  5. Coloring Outside the Lines October 18, 2016 at 5:57 pm #

    Oh my goodness, that’s awful! I’m glad she is healing though, but maggots…ewww gross!

  6. Jeanne October 19, 2016 at 2:01 am #

    Oh brother! I’m so glad you were able to get her to where you could treat the wound! Were you shocked at the condition? I hope she will be all right!

  7. janicead October 23, 2016 at 8:49 pm #

    You are not a timid girl but a truly brave lady.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

