An Osboer Trait

3 Oct

For some reason, there’s a couple of traits that seem to be prevalent with my Osboer goats.  Goliath had both the Osboer yell that sounds like he’s being strangled and the other trait–destructiveness.

Goliath

Goliath

Lots of the goats have inherited the yell.

Wanda

Wanda

Fionn inherited the beating his heads against things to destroy them.  He removed a lot of boards from the old garage.  He busted a post off in the fence.

Garage Bucks_0090ew

I’m glad he’s working on this huge post now.

buck_5905ews

He’s more into destroying other things.  Sugar is my only doe that has this destructive gene.  She’s beating her head against this post to the point that she’s going to bust it off soon.

post_5906ews

Sadly, she’s even harder on herself.

doe_5909ews

Sugar

I don’t know what to do with her.  She’s the most wild adult goat on the farm, so I can’t even catch her to clean it up and put fly spray on it.

Sugar

Sugar

Any suggestions?

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have the items for this week at the top of my side bar.

6 Responses to “An Osboer Trait”

  1. Annie October 3, 2016 at 7:29 pm #

    Maybe put some fly spray in an antibiotic ointment and smear it on the post. Then when she hits the post, she treats herself. Or, she finds another post to turn into a toothpick!

  2. pattisj October 3, 2016 at 10:52 pm #

    I think Fionn needs to teach Sugar the best way to beat her head against a pole without injury. I don’t remember Goliath. He was a handsome fella.

  3. Margaret Birding For Pleasure October 3, 2016 at 11:13 pm #

    I know you often sell your kids, is Sugar too old to sell?

  4. Eileen Wise October 4, 2016 at 7:13 am #

    Oh my poor Sugar. I hope she heals and stops the head banging. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

  5. Gattina October 5, 2016 at 2:54 am #

    Maybe you should name her “Salt” ?? She doesn’t sound very sweet, lol !

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

