Every Evening in the Milk Room

13 Sep

Every evening I go into my milk room.  I notice every time I go in there that I still haven’t used the paint sitting in there.  I still need a set of shelves so my hoof trimming tools aren’t lying on the floor.  But I still love my milk room, and those are projects for when the pumpkin patch is done.

milk-room_5405ews

Before I ever get into the milk room, I hear Cinnamon.  She’s always first.  She’s demanding to be milked long before I am ready to start my evening milking.

Cinnamon Sue Blackboer

I open the door, and she just eats while I milk.  I don’t use a stanchion or anything.  I just sit on the stool while she eats.

doe-eating_5407ews

Then I fill my cup.  Did you notice I switched girls?  It doesn’t take long to milk one.

Clover Blackboer

When I kick Clover out (I have to boot both her and Cinnamon out the door), Stormy is waiting patiently.  I like it when they wait patiently.

goats_5413ews

She’s been a great addition to my milking does.

doe-goat_5414ews

When I empty the glass into my tote jug, Stormy knows we’re done.  She waits patiently at the door for me to let her out.

goat-at-door_5415ews

There’s Dolly!  She’s usually last because she’s not going to fight anyone to get in sooner.

doe-at-door_5416ews

She’s even waiting patiently for Stormy to take her time stepping out of the doorway.

doe-goats_5417ews

She’s happy to eat once she’s in there.  She’s another one that knows when I’m done and will just go to the door to be let out.

doe-at-door_5424ews

Then I get to go in and filter all that yummy milk.

milk_5425ews

Then I can use it to make soap and lotion!

soap_5377ews

lotion_5375ews

How awesome is that!

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have the items for this week at the top of my sidebar.

13 Responses to “Every Evening in the Milk Room”

  1. Maddie September 13, 2016 at 9:39 pm #

    Your milk room is so nice and simple :). Your goats are also so well trained.

  2. Margaret Adamson September 13, 2016 at 10:32 pm #

    a great producction line adn wonderful end products

  3. Patty Leonard Woodland September 13, 2016 at 11:06 pm #

    You have well behaved goats. I never had that breed. Ah hem

    • Teresa September 14, 2016 at 10:31 am #

      Most of the time they are. I also have enough girls that I can pick and choose who I milk. 😉

  4. Jeanne September 14, 2016 at 12:53 am #

    That’s really nice that your girls are so polite and patient at milking time! It seems almost unreal!

    • Teresa September 14, 2016 at 10:30 am #

      Most days they are good. Occasionally, we get a bit pushy entering or exiting.

  5. Eileen Wise September 14, 2016 at 8:06 am #

    Hello, the goats are all so cute. You make it look so easy. Have a happy day!

  6. Dave From Philadelphia September 14, 2016 at 9:33 am #

    Thank you for showing your process of milking. Having never lived on a farm, I enjoyed the pictures.

  7. Victoria Howell September 14, 2016 at 9:37 am #

    …why do you milk into a plastic cup? Why not just milk into the milk can? Just curious.

    • Teresa September 14, 2016 at 10:30 am #

      Mostly habit. Right now, I can milk them out into the glass. Then I combine all of their milk into the bucket. Occasionally, the girls will move or kick at a fly, and I don’t want them to step in it. If they do, it doesn’t ruin it all.

  8. janicead September 20, 2016 at 8:24 pm #

    Maybe if you had one of those lever handles the two girls would let themselves out. We had a dog that learned how to open doors using the handles.

    • Teresa September 20, 2016 at 8:25 pm #

      My lab mix that I had used to let himself in and out of the house. LOL It was rather convenient.

  9. pattisj September 20, 2016 at 9:55 pm #

    Aw. I like how cooperative they are! I didn’t remember Dolly’s markings. Her dark eyes are so pretty.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

