A Warm Labor Day

5 Sep

It was positively hot today.  Even Bob was melting on the deck.  (I don’t know why he didn’t go inside to the air conditioning.)

Bob Cat

Bob Cat

Since it was so hot, Mom and I decided to pick the Indian corn!

Indian Corn_5264ews

We have quite a bit and lots of variety.

Indian Corn_5263ews

We do think we should find a way to keep from planting it next to the field corn.  When it cross pollinates, we end up with a lot of yellow with a few colorful kernels.

Indian Corn_5262ews

Oh well.  We can make that change for next year.  Tomorrow is supposed to be even hotter (90* with a 99* heat index), so I am really not looking forward to working in an un-air conditioned brick building.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my side bar.

17 Responses to “A Warm Labor Day”

  1. TexWisGirl September 5, 2016 at 7:20 pm #

    the corn still looks good. poor bob…

    • Teresa September 5, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

      Thanks. My sister is bringing some from up where she lives too. I don’t know why Bob decided to lay there. He does know how to lounge around in the AC.

  2. Jim September 5, 2016 at 7:39 pm #

    Bob looks pretty cool to me, Teresa. I think he is a cool cat.
    I think that your Indian corn would be prettier too if you kept the different types of corn apart. They are cross pollinating a little.
    ..

    • Cloudia September 5, 2016 at 7:50 pm #

      Hope that corn don’t pop tomorrow! Hey, Bob 🙂

      • Teresa September 5, 2016 at 9:44 pm #

        We still have popcorn out in the field! It really will pop of it gets too dry and hot. LOL

    • Teresa September 5, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

      Well, in keeping with the mechanical failures when we were planting, we had to use the bigger planter, so we couldn’t put the corn where we wanted. The only place the planter would fit was next to the field corn. LOL It’s been one of those years.

  3. Crystal September 5, 2016 at 11:27 pm #

    Oh Bob, I just wanna hug him. And that corn I grew it too, but I dont know what to do with it, lol its supposed to be ornamental but I guess after its ripe I have to dry it? I dunno guess I shoulda asked more questions when i bought it.

    • Teresa September 6, 2016 at 7:43 am #

      Once the corn is picked, we just pull the husks back so they dry that way. It makes them easy to bundle and hang that way.

  4. Jeanne September 6, 2016 at 1:12 am #

    I’m sorry you’re having such high temps. Not fun! Our high was in the mid 70s today, which was really nice. – Years ago, when we lived in Idaho (And had a bigger garden!) we raised ornamental popcorn. It was beautiful! And it was fun to pop, too. What do you do with yours? Just use it for decoration?

    • Teresa September 6, 2016 at 7:44 am #

      This is not popcorn. It will get sold at the pumpkin patch this fall. We do have popcorn out there to pick yet.

  5. Margaret September 6, 2016 at 3:34 am #

    The corn is very colourful and I don’t suppose it matters what color it is if you eat it

    • Teresa September 6, 2016 at 7:45 am #

      This is not for eating. You could grind it into cornmeal, but it’s just for decoration. Although, I did feed the leftovers to my cows when I had them.

  6. Eileen Wise September 6, 2016 at 6:02 am #

    Hello, Bob does not seem to mind. The corn looks good, I can see some pretty fall decorations coming. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa September 6, 2016 at 7:45 am #

      Cats do seem to take the heat pretty well. He is good about letting me know when he wants inside, so I don’t worry about him.

  7. DeniseinVA September 6, 2016 at 7:35 am #

    I was wilting on a walk yesterday. I felt like Bob 🙂 your corn looks pretty.

    • Teresa September 6, 2016 at 7:46 am #

      Stay cool! The Indian corn is the perfect fall decoration.

  8. pattisj September 6, 2016 at 11:58 pm #

    Thanks to the tropical storm that visited, our Monday was cooler with a nice breeze. What a lovely change! We worked in the yard most of the day.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

